Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Western Civilization

General Resources

Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome
REF DE 59 .C55 1988
Essays cover every aspect of ancient culture from technology to family life.
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
REF DS 57 .C55 1995
Covers Egypt, Mesopotamia, Iran, Anatolia and Syro-Palestine. Want to find out more about Erotic Art in the Ancient World?
History: Illustrated Search Strategy and Sources
REF D16 .F87 1995
A great place to begin. Excellent resource on how to approach research in history.
A Student's Guide to History, 6th Ed.
REF D16.3 .B4 1994
Very useful "how-to" handbook. Covers reading an assignment, charts and maps; how to take notes, study for exams, research a topic.
Who's Who in the Greek World
REF DE7 .H39 2000
Philosophers, poets, kings and warriors.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Great Events from History: Ancient and Medieval Series
REF D59 .M26
Short essays summarize over 1,000 important events in the history of Western civilization, beginning with the domestication of the horse.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 3rd Edition.
REF DE5 .O9 1996
The ultimate one-volume reference work.
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
REF DE5 .L29 1999
Covers 250-800 AD.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable on-line version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
The New Illustrated Encyclopedia of World History
REF D21 .L276
A visual tour through the ages.
World History: A Dictionary of Important People, Places and Events from Ancient Times to the Present.
REF D9 .W47 1994
Short, concise explanations of historical events, people, etc.

Chronologies

Chronology of the Ancient World, 10,000 B.C. to A.D. 799
REF D54.5 .M45 1994
Chronology of World History
REF D11 .M39 1999
Detailed account covers politics, science, art, culture of the ancient civilizations.

Atlases

Shepherd's Historical Atlas
REF G1030 .S4 1980
Includes plans (street map) of ancient Rome and Athens, a medieval manor, a monastery, and a map showing the development of Christianity.
Atlas of Ancient and Classical Geography
REF G1033 .A88 1910
Beautiful, detailed maps of the ancient world, with gazetteer.
A Literary and Historical Atlas of Europe
REF G1796 .S1 B3 1912
A real gem!
Atlas of European History
REF G1797.21 .S1 T5 1994
Atlas of Classical History
REF G1033 .A833 1985
Concise commentary accompanies maps of the ancient world.
Atlas of the Crusades
REF G1034 .R5 1991
Maps provide detailed routes of the crusades.
Atlas of the Roman World
REF DG77 .C597 1982

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
JSTOR
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is an archive of scholarly journals.Browse orsearch the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.For a complete listing of currently available journals, refer to the JSTOR Contents page
MLA Bibliography
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Finding Information on the Web

Exploring Ancient World Cultures: An Introduction to Ancient World Cultures on the World-Wide Web.
Edited by William Hemminger and affiliated with Evansville University.
The Perseus Digital Library from Tufts University.
Features primary and secondary sources for the study of Ancient Greece and Rome.
Lectures for Western Civilization
Professor Gerhard Rempel, Western New England College
Web Directory: Mesopotamia.
Created and maintained by Nancy Mautz, Artist and Teacher
Fordham University's Ancient History Source Book