Finding Books
Art books are located in the N - NX section of the Main Library on the second floor. Art encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and handbooks may also be found by this call number in the Library's reference area. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.
Use the HELIN Library Catalog for locating books in the RWU Library. HELIN is the shared catalog of eight Rhode Island academic libraries. You may request books from any HELIN library by using the online Request link found at the top of the book information screen.
Use the InRhode Catalog to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, JOSIAH. With InRhode, you can also request books from Brown.
For a worldwide catalog of books try WorldCat.
For help in using HELIN, please see the HELIN Users' Guide.
Finding Articles in Print Indexes & Online Databases
Academic Search Premier - Ebsco |
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publication. |
| AH Search |
Citations to articles in the arts and humanities. |
Art Abstracts |
Index and abstracts to art publications. 1984-present. |
| Art Index Retrospective |
Index to the art literature from 1929-1984. |
| AskART |
Comprehensive database about American artists. Includes biographies, auction records, bibliographies, exhibition information, digital images, and more. |
| Avery Index |
Premier Architectural Index. |
| Bibliography on the History of Art (BHA) |
Comprehensive art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. |
| Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) |
Indexes articles in design and applied arts including ceramics, jewelry, wood, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, computer generated graphics and more. |
| Oxford (Grove's) Dictionary of Art |
Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. Revised and updated. Includes images. |
Reader's Guide Retrospective |
An index of the most popular general-interest magazines published in the U.S. from 1890 - 1982. |
Art Libraries with Web Links
- Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University
- Bapst Library at Boston College
- A comprehensive guide to art resources on the web.
- Harvard Libraries Fine Arts Library
- Vassar College of Art Library
- Well organized with links to international art departments.
- Yale Library Selected Internet Resources: Art History
Finding Images
- ArtSTOR
- Art and Architecture Image Sites
- Art Images for College Teaching Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet
- Grove's Dictionary of Art
- Online full-text version of the 34 volume Dictionary of Art with image links.
Museums
- Rhode Island Museum Sites:
- Bell Gallery, Providence
- RISD Museum
- Gallery Night Providence
- Newport Art Museum
- Rhode Island State Council on the Arts
- Massachusetts Museum Sites:
- Comprehensive List of Museums in Massachusetts
- Berkshire Museum
- DeCordova
- Fuller Craft Museum
- Harvard University Art Museums
- Isabelle Stewart Gardner Museum
- MASS MoCA
- Massachusetts College of Art
- MIT Museum
- Museum of Afro-American History
- Museum of Fine Arts
- Museum of Bad Art
- Museums Nearby:
- Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Museum of Modern Art
Employment Opportunities
(also see museum listings above)
- Sites with Listings for Jobs and Exhibition Opportunities
- Alliance of Artist Communities - Members
- Alliance of Artist Communities - Residencies
- Art Deadlines List
- Art Job Online
- ArtWeek
- Artists Resource
- College Art Association
- Creative Capital
- The National Network for Artist Placement
- NYFA Interactive
- Trans Artists
- U.S. Artists Report
- WESTAF: Western States Art Federation
- State Funded Foundations & Organizations:
may have job listings, fellowships, exhibition, and other opportunities National
- Art Show
- lists state art organizations nationwide
- NYFA Interactive
- NYFA Interactive Source: A Directory for Artists
- National Endowment for the Arts
- Regional - New England:
- Maine Arts Commission
- Massachusetts Cultural Council
- New Hampshire State Council on the Arts
- Rhode Island State Council on the Arts
- VSA Arts of Massachusetts
- Residencies
- Alliance of Artist Communities
- Anderson Center
- Arrowmont
- Art-exchange.com
- Art Omi International Artists' Residency
- Kohler
- I-Park
- Millay Colony for the Arts
- Vermont Studio Center
Regional Workshops for Continued Studies
- Anderson Center
- Arrowmont
- Millay Colony for the Arts
- National Sculpture Society
- Peter's Valley Craft Education Center
- Snow Farm: New England Craft Program
- SSAC: South Shore Art Center
- Truro Center for the Arts at Castle Hill Mission
- Vermont Studio Center
Other Sources for Employment and Funding
- AHA! (Art, History, Architecture)
- Arts Foundation of Cape Cod
- Berkshire Museum
- Blue Man Group
- Boston Center for the Arts
- Boston Institute for Arts Therapy
- Boston Public Schools - Arts
- Cambridge Arts Council
- Cambridge Community Television
- Cambridge Historical Society
- Cambridge Multicultural Arts Center
- Children's Museum at Holyoke
- Community Arts Advocates
- Creative Education Foundation
- Hasbro Toys
- Marblehead Arts Association
- Massachusetts Foundation for the Humanities
- Museum of Picturebook Art
- Museum of Science
- Nantucket Historical Association
- New England Foundation for the Arts
- Old Sturbridge Village
- Peabody Essex Museum
- RISD Museum
- School of the Museum of Fine Arts - Boston
- Smith College Museum of Art
- Worcester Art Museum