Research Tips & Tools

Course Guides:

English 430: Special Topics -
Tolkien

Finding Books with the HELIN Library Catalog

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Tolkien, J. R. R. (John Ronald Reuel), 1892-1973 -- Criticism and interpretation
Fantasy literature, English -- History and criticism 
Middle Earth (Imaginary place) 

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

Tolkien and religion
Tolkien and C.S. Lewis
Tolkien and war

Finding Articles using Online Databases

For the topics assigned in this class, journal articles will be your best source of information.  If you need help using these databases, please ask the reference librarian!

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.

Art Abstracts
Index and abstracts to art publications. 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective Index to the art literature from 1929-1984.
Britannica Online
Full Text
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full Text
Excerpts from criticism published on  authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full Text
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Full Text
Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 
MLA Bibliography 
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO Online version of Psychology Abstracts (PsychLIT).   Choose to search databases covering years 1887 to present.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

Finding Information and Images on the Web

Ardalambion: Of the Tongues of Arda, the Invented World of J.R.R. Tolkien
Website dedicated to Tolkien's invented languages and linguistic construction
Encyclopedia of Arda
"A reference guide to the works of J.R.R. Tolkien."
IPL Literary Criticism -- J.R.R. Tolkien
Evaluated Tolkien web sites
Mythopoeic Society
A nonprofit literary and educational organization that focuses on fantasy and mythic literature by authors such as J. R. R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Charles Williams. 
The Sutton Hoo Society
The Tolkien Society
Tolkien's Oxford
Photos of places in Oxford associated with Tolkien's life.