General
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
- REF HA202 .A35 2004/5
- The National Data Book. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
- County and City Data Book
- REF HA202 .A36
- Official population and housing data from the 2000 Census plus business and other data for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 or more inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants.
- Time Almanac
- REF AYY64 .I55 2005
- World, national and state statistics
- The World Almanac and Book of Facts
- REF AY67 .N5 W7 2005
Want to know how many BMW Z3's were produced in U.S. Plants in 1999.
- Statistical Yearbook
- REF JX1977 .A35 2001
- Published by the United Nations. Statistics on education, health, gross domestic produce, wages, transportation, intellectual property and environment for the countries included.
Crime
- Statistics on Crime and Punishment
- REF HV6787 .S73
A selection of statistical charts, graphs and tables about crime and punishment from a variety of published sources with explanatory comments.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
- REF HV6787 .S72
Produced by the U. S. Department of Justice, it covers all aspects of criminal justice in the U.S.
U.S. Government Agency Web Sites
- The CIA's World Factbook
- Country profiles cover the geography, people, government, economy, transportation, military and transnational issues.
- Department of Commerce Bureau of Economic Analysis
- Excellent for business statistics.
- Department of Energy - Energy Information Administration
- Current information, updated weekly, on the state of energy sources and resources, including charts on gasoline and crude oil production and prices.
- Federal Election Commission
- Campaign finance reports and data.
- Fedstats
- "Gateway to statistics from over 100 U. S. Federal Agencies."
- Library of Congress Country Studies
- In-depth country profiles covering history, society, health care education, government and constitutional framework (some country constitutions), economy and international relations.
- National Center for Educational Statistics
- Comprehensive web site providing data on all aspects of U.S. education.
- Office of Management and Budget Executive Office of the President
- The 2003 U. S. budget accessible through downloadable spreadsheets and a searchable database. Includes the statistical table of the February 2002 Economic Report of the President.
- U. S. Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Statistics Service
- US and State level agricultural statistics in numerous National reports for many commodities and data series.
- U. S. Department of Commerce U. S. Census Bureau
- A very good place to start. Gateway to statistics for many government agencies, as well as American FactFinder, a searchable database of tables and maps for U.S. states, counties, cities, towns, and American Indian reservations.
- U. S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Statistics on consumer spending, wages and earnings, productivity, safety and health, international and occupational statistics and demographics.
- U. S. Department of Transportation Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- Databases include comprehensive tables on airline, boating, highway and vessel statistics.
- World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
- Health and health-related statistical information.