Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Sociology Research Guide

Find books

Sociology books are primarily located in the HM- HX call number area on the second floor of the library.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Sociology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Annual Reviews
Home page for Annual Reviews, Inc. that publishes 27 series covering Biological and Medical Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. Bibliographic information and abstracts only.
Current Research in Social Psychology
Free peer-reviewed electronic journal covering all aspects of social psychology.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Social Science Resources:

 
 
Child Welfare Information Gateway
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections 
Intute Social Sciences Information Gateway
 
Research Resources for the Social Sciences
 
Social Psychology Network
A Sociological Tour through Cyberspace  
Sociology Internet Resources
 
SocioSite
 
World Wide Web Virtual Library -- Sociology
 

Research and Statistics Sites:

 
Internet Crossroads in the Social Sciences
Offers links to information services such as subject specific gateways and textual resources and links to data resources by topic area.
Survey Study Resources
Sources for related topics on survey research, social science, and statistics
Data on the Net
Social science statistical data from over 800 Internet sites. Maintained by the S.S.D.C. at University of California, San Diego.
Statistical Resources on the Web
 
Statistical Abstract of the United States
 
National Center for Health Statistics
News releases, fact sheets, statistics, and a searchable database.
Bureau of Justice Statistics United States Census
 
Census Bureau Poverty Stats
 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
 
Professional Organizations:
 
American Sociological Association
Membership and conference information, teaching and academic resources, code of ethics, publications, employment resources, research support and more.
N.A.S.W. Online
National Association of Social Workers. Links to NASW chapters, other social work organizations, and government agencies. Here you will also find the NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers, NASW Code of Ethics, meeting information, job opportunities, and articles on social work practice.
New Social Worker Online
Journal designed especially for the social work students and recent graduates. Articles include news of the profession, resources for social workers, articles on ethics, field placement issues, and more.