Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Sociology 230:
Population and Society:
Comparative Immigration

Reference Books 

American Immigrant Cultures
REF E184.A1 A63448 1997
Encyclopedia of American Immigration 
REF JV6465 E53 2000
Encyclopedia of Anthropology -- online
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
REF GN307 E53 1991
The Handbook of International Migration : the American Experience
JV6465 H25 1999
Multicultural America
REF E184 A1 G14 2000

Databases

 
Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,180 scholarly publications.
Anthropological Index
 
Anthrosource
An electronic archive of all American Anthropological Association journals.
ContmpWomenIss
Contemporary womens issues.  RWU FirstSearch subscription database.  See Librarian for password.
JSTOR  
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is an archive of scholarly journals.  Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  For a complete listing of currently available journals, refer to the JSTOR Contents page.
Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe  
A news, law, and busines information service with full-text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.
PAIS Intl
Materials on public affairs.
Population Index  
Indexing and abstracts of journals, books, and other materials on demographics & population.
Project Muse
A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) 
Search or browse this collection of science and social science journals.  Contains full-text back to 1995 of approximately 500 journals published by Elsevier. Offers citations and abstracts only to more than 1200 journals. To enter, select “group-wide” login.
Social Services Abstracts  
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Mirror Site
Sociological Abstracts  
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Mirror Site

Web Resources

Asian-American Net
Resource to support Asian American communities and provide information for and about them. Provides region-specific information. Links to a wide range of Web sites on immigration.
Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services
Government agency provides information on and for immigrants and aliens, including current and historical statistical information. 
Center for Immigration Studies
Research and advocacy group provides links to specific publications with information on immigrants, including statistics.
Ethnomed
Seattle health care provider has compiled information about cultural factors that impact attitudes and practices regarding medical issues.
FAIR (Federation for American Immigration Reform)
Advocacy group provides statistical information on foreign-born population by region and group.
Louis Mumford Center
Statistical data on racial and ethnic composition of selected urban and regional areas.
Migration News
"Monthly summary of recent immigration developments" - links to regional news, including information on U.S. immigrant groups.
National Immigration Forum
Advocacy group provides basic information about and for immigrants, including historical information and review of contemporary issues.
United States Census Bureau - information on the foreign born
Current and historical statistical information.
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development Urban Research Monitor
Recent patterns of settlement.
>