Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 350: Shakespeare

Finding Books with the HELIN Library Catalog

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Shakespeare William 1564-1616 - Knowledge - England
Shakespeare William 1564-1616 - Knowledge - Occultism
Shakespeare William 1564-1616 - Political and Social Views
Shakespeare William 1564-1616 - Stage History

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

Shakespeare and science
Shakespeare and Chaucer
Shakespeare and costume
Shakespeare and witchcraft


Finding Articles using Online Databases -

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
General periodical index for scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Excerpts from criticism published on authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Bibliography
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO Online version of Psychology Abstracts (PsychLIT). Choose to search databases covering years 1887 to present.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

Finding Information on the Web

A Brief History of Fashion

Copernican Model: A Sun Centered Model

The Copernican Universe

Elizabethan Costuming Page

Elizabethan England

Elizabethan Homilies (1632)

Elizabethan Sumptuary Statues sumptuary statues/dress codes

The Geocentric Paradigm: the universe as conceived by Aristotle and Ptolemy

Medieval Cosmology

The Prioress's Tale

The Prioress's Tale: The Prioress's Tame and Medieval Anti-Semitism

Shakespearean Insulter

Sites on Shakespeare and the Renaissance

The Universe of Aristotle and Ptolemy

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet by Terry A. Gray.
A guide to Shakespeare resources on the Internet with many links.