Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Critical Writing: Race, Gender, & Class

Finding Books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs. Use the HELIN Library Catalog for locating books in the RWU Library. HELIN is the shared catalog of seven Rhode Island academic libraries. You may request books from any HELIN library by using the online Request link found at the top of the book information screen.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

racism - United States
sexism - United States
social classes - United States
ethnicity - United States
feminism - United States

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

gender and class
gender and class and education
race and wealth


Finding Reference Materials

Gender:

American Masculinities
REF HQ1090.3 A453 2003
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
REF HQ76.25 E53 1990 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
REF HQ1115 E43 2001 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
REF HQ1410 C85 2000
From Suffrage to the Senate: An Encyclopedia of American Women in Politics
REF HQ1236.5 U6 S32 1999 v.1-2
The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History
REF HQ1410 R43 1998

Race and Ethnicity:

American Immigrant Cultures
REF E184 A1 A63448 1997 v.1-2
The African-American Almanac
REF E185 5 N34
The Columbia Documentary History of the Asian-American Experience
REF E184 O6 C63 2002
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
REF E185 E54 1996 v.1-5
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
REF JV6465 E53 2000 v. 1-4
Encyclopedia of Black Studies
REF E185 E554 2005
The Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
REF E184 A1 G14 2000 v.1-3
The Hispanic American Almanac
REF E184 S75 H557 1997
The Mexican-American Experience
REF E184 M5 M4535 2003
Native Americans
REF E93 N32 2002
The Native North American Almanac
REF E777 N37 2001

Class:

Child Labor
REF HD6231 H63 1999
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
REF HD8064 A63 2004
Work and Family in America
REF HD4904.25 S84 2001
Working Americans, 1880-1999
REF HD8066 D47 2000 v.1-4
Political and Social Issues:
Civil Rights in the United States
REF E184 A1 C47 2000 v.1-2
Comparative Guide to American Suburbs
REF HT123 C616 1997
Demographics of the U.S.
REF HB 849.49 R87 2000
Encyclopedia of Community
REF HM756E53 2003 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy
REF JK9 E526 2004
Encyclopedia of Public Health
REF RA423 E53 2002 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of Rural America: The Land and People
REF E 169.12 E5 1997 v.1-2
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education
REF LC1099.3 H35 2004
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
REF E169.1 S764 2000 v.1-5
Urban Sprawl
REF HT384 U5 W55 2000
Work in America : An Encyclopedia of History, Policy and Society
REF HD8066 W637 2003 v.1-2

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
Academic Universe (Lexis/Nexis)
Full Text
A news, law, and busines information service with full-text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.
CQ Researcher
Full Text
Each week CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news. Articles are then archived and searchable within this database.
Communications & Mass Media Complete Research related to communication and mass media.
ContmpWomenIss (CWI) Contemporary women's issues.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Provides indexing for the major journals, books and reports in criminology and related disciplines. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
SAGE Full-text Criminology Journals Includes the full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 4,100 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
ERIC (Ebsco)

ERIC from Ebsco

ERIC Educator's Reference Desk -- public access site to search the ERIC database.
GenderWatch
Full Text
GenderWatch is a full-text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas
JSTOR
Full Text
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is an archive of scholarly journals. Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For a complete listing of currently available journals, refer to the JSTOR Contents page.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Full Text
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
PsycINFO Contains more than 2 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
SocINDEX with Full Text Social Science database containing full text for 235 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 545 books and monographs, and full text for 6,601 conference papers.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts of political science literature, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Finding Information on the Web

Comprehensive Social and Public Policy websites:

The Brookings Institution
Provides extensive information on cities and suburbs, social policy, politics, education, etc.
Pew Partnership for Civic Change
The Resources link provides the full text of several documents proposing strategies for social change.
Sargent Shriver National Center on Poverty Law
Urban Institute: A Nonpartisan Economic and Social Policy Research Organization

Class and Labor:

Economic Policy Institute
Includes briefing papers, reports, statistics and data related to economics, the labor market, employment, and standard of living.
U.S. Census Bureau: American Community Survey
U.S. Census Bureau: Income
U.S. Census Bureau: Poverty=
U. S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics on consumer spending, wages and earnings, productivity, safety and health, international and occupational statistics and demographics.

Education:

Economic Policy Institute:Education
Institute for Urban and Minority Education
From Columbia University's Teacher's College.
National Center for Educational Statistics
Comprehensive web site providing data on all aspects of U.S. education.
Rethinking Schools

Gender:

Gender Statistics Database
From United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. Provides in-depth statistics on a country by country basis, including the United States.
U.S. Department of Justice: Office of Violence Against Women
Provides reports and statistics on partner violence, rape and sexual assault, workplace violence, etc.
U.S. Department of Labor: Women's Bureau

Health Care:

Gay and Lesbian Health
From the National Institutes of Health.
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies: Health Policy Institute
Provides information on health care pertaining to people of color.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Women's Health information Center
From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Office of Minority Health: Racial and Ethnic Populations
From the Center for Disease Control.
The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
It's Research Center provides abstracts to publications reporting on healthcare disparities, public health issues, vulnerable populations, etc. The full-text of the organization's newsletter as well as the full-text of other publications are available through the Publications and Resources link.
U.S. Census: Health Insurance Data

Housing:

County and City Data Book
REF HA202 .A36
Official population and housing data from the 2000 Census plus business and other data for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 or more inhabitants, and places of 2,500 or more inhabitants.
online at: www.census.gov/statab/www/ccdb.html
U.S.Census Bureau Housing Topics
Includes fact sheets and data based on surveys such as the American Housing Survey and the Residential Finance Survey.
Homes and Communities: U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Includes information on fair housing and reports through the Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity link. Also links to an Online Library for information on Native American housing, homelessness, community development, etc.

Race and Ethnicity:

American Immigration Law Foundation
Institute on Race and Justice
From Northeastern University. Provides a helpful links page and provides data pertinent to racial profiling from Massachusetts and Rhode Island. More information is available at the Northeastern University Racial Profiling Data Collection Research Center.
Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
Provides a "comprehensive warehouse of data on racial populations" via the DataBank link.
U.S. Census Bureau: Historical Census Statistics on Population Totals By Race, 1790 to 1990, and By Hispanic Origin, 1970 to 1990, For The United States, Regions, Divisions, and States
U.S. Census Bureau: Minority Links
"Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States."

Racism, Discrimination, Civil and Equal Rights:

American Civil Liberties Union
The Civil Rights Project
From Harvard University.
Fairvote.org
People for the American Way
Concerned with promoting equal rights, religious freedom, equal access to public education, etc.
Poverty and Race Research Action Council
Provides information on the relationship between race and poverty or economics and how that impacts issues of health, housing, community development, racism, etc.
Southern Poverty Law Center
Advocates for an end to racism and discrimination through education and the teaching of tolerance.
The Sentencing Project
Provides fact sheets, data and statistics on the racial composition and racial disparity within the prison system.
U.S. Commission on Civil Rights

Statistics (General):

Statistics Subject Guide from RWU Libraries
Statistical Abstract of the United States
REF HA202 .A35 2004/5
The National Data Book. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Abstract is also your Guide to Sources of other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
online at: www.census.gov/statab/www/

Humanities and Social Science Citation & Research

APA:

Electronic Reference Formats Recommended by the APA
Updated on June 1, 1999. This guide shows how to cite email communications, web sites, specific documents on a web site and articles and abstracts from electronic databases.
Bibliographies: APA Format
Examples from the University of Illinois Writer's Workshop Web site.
A Guide to Writing Research Papers
Based on Styles Recommended by The American Psychological Association.
Guide for Citing Electronic Information
Sarah Byrd Askew Library, William Paterson University .
APA Style Resources
PsychWeb Resources.

MLA:

Bibliographies: MLA Format
Examples from the University of Illinois Writer's Workshop Web site.
A Guide to Writing Research Papers based on Modern Language Association (MLA) Documentation
Capital Community Technical College.

Bibliographic Management:

Refworks
Refworks is an online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references.Please see our research guide on how to use this tool located at http://library.rwu.edu/researchhelp/refworks.html