Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Public Administration Research Guide

Find books

Public Administration books are primarily located in the J - K call number area on the second floor of the library.   You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Public Administration. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Federal Times -- a weekly news source for federal managers covering agency mangement, HR management, technology and other issues.

Governing.com -- primary audience is state and local government officials.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Grant Information

Grant Advisor- a monthly newsletter that provides information on grant, research, and fellowship opportuniteis for U.S. institutions of higher edcucation and their faculty. Bristol campus only.

Grant Advisor Links to Funding Sources
Foundation Center -- a fee based service that provides informaiton on over 80,000 funding opportunities. Although RWU does have a subscritption to this service, there is free and useful information provided. We do have a print copy of the Foundation Directory in our Main Library Reference Area.

IRIS - a searchable database produced by the University of Illibois Library at Urbana Champaign, contains funding opportunities in all fields from federal and private agencies or sponsors. RWU subscription available at the Bristol campus only.

Web Sites

FedStats

FirstGov -- U.S. the government's official web portal

National Academy of Public Administration

National Center for Policy Analysis

National League of Cities

Public Agenda

Public Sector Continuous Improvement Site

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Urban Institute

U.S. Census Bureau