Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Psychology Research Guide

Find books

Psychology books are primarily located in the BF call number area on the second floor of the library.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Psychology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

PsycARTICLES -- Contains full-text articles from scholarly journals published by the APA.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science (4 vols.) REF BF31 E52 2001
Encyclopedia of Psychology (8 vols.) REF BF31 E52 2000
Handbook of Psychology (12 vols.) REF BF121 H1955 2003
MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences REF BF311 M556 1999
Encyclopedia of Creativity REF BF408 E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior REF BF351 E55 1999
Handbook of Child Psychology (4 vols.) REF BF721 H242 1998
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas A searchable on-line version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Freud Encyclopedia REF BF173 F6176 2002

Web Sites

American Psychology Association

Data on the Net

David Willshire's Forensic Psychology & Psychiatry Links

Forensic Science Network

Mental Measurements Yearbook: Test Reviews Online

Psych-Web

Social Psychology Network

Tufts University Child and Family Web Guide

WWW Virtual Library for Psychology

Zeno's Forensic Page