Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Political Science Research Guide

Find books

Political Science books are primarily located in the J - JK call number area on the second floor of the library.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Political Science. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites
American Politics & Government
Rhode Island Government
International Relations & Foreign Policy
Democracy Sites
Constitutions on the Web
Statistics & Data Resources
Other Useful Political Sites

Comprehensive Political Science Sites On The Web:

The following  sites offer a variety of links to international and American politics, journals and publications, internet guides, associations, conferences and more.

Political Information.com
Provides a search engine for over 4000 political and policy sites
Political Science Resources
Developed by Richard Kimber at the University of Keele. Links to everything concerning world politics: area studies, governments, constitutions, elections, political thought and theory, elections, data archives, and journals.
University of Michigan Document Center
"The Documents Center is a central reference and referral point for government information, whether local, state, federal, foreign or international."
Ultimate Political Science Links Page
Links to political science journals, associations, and political science areas of study.

American Politics & Government:

American Attitudes: Program on International Policy Attitudes
"Carries out research on public opinion on foreign policy and international issues by conducting nationwide polls, focus groups and comprehensive reviews of polling conducted by other organizations."
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774 to present
Commission on Presidential Debates
Focus is on the 1996 Presidential Debates, but also offers an archive of presidential and vice presidential debates from 1960 - 1992.
Department Of Justice
The U.S. Dept. Of Justice Provides statistics and collects information on drugs and crime, criminal offenders, homicide trends, victims and the justice system.  A wide range of publications are also available, as well as links to other sites of interest.
Douglas's: Archives of American Public Address
From Northwestern University. Speeches and documents from colonial times to present. Search by speaker, title, chronologically, or by controversy/movement.
Full-text state statutes and legislation on the Internet
Full-text state constitutions, statutes, legislation (bills, amendments and similar documents), session laws (bills that have become laws), and administrative rules.
Government Printing Office
Provides federal government information on the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government; core documents of U.S. democracy, the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Historical Documents
A chronology of U.S. historical documents from the pre-colonial era to the present day including biographies of the first ladies and the presidents, the Mayflower Compact, the Articles Of Confederation, the Star Spangled Banner, etc.
Inaugural Addresses
Inaugural addresses of the presidents from George Washington (1789) to George Bush (1989), and cites the oath taken by the presidents.
OpenSecrets.org
From the Center for Responsive Politics. Online source for money in politics data.
PollingReport.com
September 11 Digital Archive
Supreme Court Decisions
The Legal Information Institute offers Supreme Court opinions from 1990 to present as part of Project Hermes, the court's electronic dissemination project.
Thomas
Federal Legislative & Congressional Information. Full text of federal bills beginning with the 103rd Congress; bill digest and status information; public laws; and various legislative/congressional information.
Unites States Government Manual
Access to the U.S. Government Manual which gives practical information on the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the federal government, as well as its executive agencies.  Also, links to the Code Of Federal Regulations, the weekly compilation of presidential documents, and public laws.

Rhode Island Government:

Rhode Island General Assembly
R.I. General Assembly Home Page contains our general laws (fully searchable); links to state departments; R.I. Public Laws (1994-present).
Rhode Island Secretary Of State
R.I. Secretary Of State home page provides full text of current pending state legislation; bill tracking; the congressional delegation online; city and town information; and links to other R.I. sites including R.I. State Departments and agencies.
Inside Politics
Detailed information on how representatives voted, campaign finance data, ethics filings of public officials, registered lobbyists, polls, media, commentary, and research reports.

International Relations:

Amnesty International
The Center for Security Policy
A non-profit, non-partisan organization to stimulate and inform the debates on security policy of interest to the U.S.
Chiefs of State
Lists chiefs of state and cabinet members of foreign governments.
CIA World Factbook
Detailed summaries of the political, economic, demographic, geographic conditions of over 200 countries.
 
Development Gateway
"The Development Gateway Foundation is an enabler of development. We help improve people's lives in developing countries by building partnerships and information systems that provide access to knowledge for development."
 
Diplomacy Monitor: St. Thomas School of Law
Primary documentation for tracking government documents accessible on the Web, including communiques, statements, press briefings, news releases, position papers, etc.
European Union in the U.S.
Foreign Affairs Online
Foreign Embassies in Washington D.C.
University of Michigan's Document Center - International Agencies and Information on the Web
Choose from a listing of international comprehensive sites, or browse a detailed alphabetical directory of organizations, or use its searchable database.
International Affairs Virtual Library
Comprehensive collection of links to resources related to international affairs.
International Relations and Security Network (ISN)
Information resources for security and defense studies, peace and conflict research, and international relations.
NATO Web
Press releases, archives, basic texts, fact sheets, ministerial communiqués, NATO handbook, speeches, fellowship reports, and more.
PRAXIS, Resources for Social and Economic Development
From the University of Pennsylvania. This site offers international development links, agencies, organizations, social/development sites, population groups, country resources, and more.
The United Nations
Includes full text of the UN General Assembly and Security Council resolutions and documents, as well as links to UN affiliated organizations.
United Nations Scholars' Workstation
Compiled by Yale University, this site offers research support to scholars of the UN.
 
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Collection of key human rights treaties, links to human rights organizations and bibliographies.
World Health Organization
 
World Bank
News, full-text publications, information on countries and regions of the world, as well as information on the World Bank Group. Includes a searchable database.
World Trade Organization
U.S. Embassies & Consulates Worldwide
U.S. Department of State
State Department publications including travel warnings.

Democracy Sites:

Center for the Study of Democracy eScholarship
National Endowment for Democracy
Also links to the Democracy Resource Center and Journal of Democracy.
Repository
"The Center for the Study of Democracy at UC Irvine publishes working papers on topics of empirical democratic studies."

Constitutions on the Web:

Constitution Finder
Constitutions, Treaties, and Declarations
Foreign and International Law Web
Full-text state statutes and legislation on the Internet
Full-text state constitutions, statutes, legislation (bills, amendments and similar documents), session laws (bills that have become laws), and administrative rules.
Statistics and Data Resources:
Data on the Net
Social Science statistical data from about 600 Internet sites.  From the University of California San Diego
Gallup Brain
RWU community only. The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 60 years of public opinion.
Lijphart Election Archive
Roper Center
Public opinion data.
 
Polling the Nations
RWU Community only. A collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 100 countries around the world.

Useful Political Science Sites:

Center for American Women and Politics
Hosted by Rutgers University, this site contains reports, links, information and articles about women and politics.
Civil Liberties
This American Civil Liberties Union site covers individual rights and freedoms - provides news, articles and related information.  Gives topics to click on such as free speech, privacy, prisons, religious liberty and women's rights and provides information and further links on that topic
Copyright
United States Copyright Office home page from the Library Of Congress.  Also provides links to the other Library Of Congress sites - home page, etc..
Find Law
Full texts of case law, citations, state and federal codes and other legal information.  Find U.S. Supreme Court decisions, U.S. Federal Court Of Appeals cases, U.S. District Court decisions, Code Of Federal Regulations, U.S. Court Of Appeals For The Armed Forces, Bankruptcy Court opinions, etc..
International Affairs
Columbia International Affairs Online - worldwide scope on government and politics.
Political Database of the Americas
A scholarly database covering the political and governmental structure of the Americas; brings together documents and statistics on politics and democratic processes in North, Central, and South America, and the Caribbean.

Professional Organizations

American Political Science Association
Useful for political science departments, conferences, grants and fellowships.
American Society For Public Administration
Canadian Political Science Association
Law And Society Association
Midwest Political Science Association