Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Philosophy Research Guide

Find books

Philosophy books are primarily located in the B call number area on the second floor of the library.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Philosophy. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

PhilSci Archive
Online preprint exchange for papers in the Philosophy of Science.

Journal List at Philosophy@Large

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print reference works, such as the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy,the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics can be found in the Reference area on the first floor.

Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy REF B41 C35 1999
Columbia History of Western Philosophy REF B72 C593 1999
Dictionary of the History of Ideas REF CB5 D52
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (4 vols.) REF BH56 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (4 vols.) REF BJ63 E44 1998
Encyclopedia of Philosophy  (8 vols.) REF B41 E5
Encylcopedia of Religion (15 vols.) REF BL31 E46 1986
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas A searchable on-line version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols.) REF B51 R68 1998
World Philosophers and Their Works (3 vols.) REF B104 W67 2000
New Catholic Encyclopedia (16 vols.) REF BX841N44 2003

Web Sites

BUBL Catalog of Internet Resources- Philosophy Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An on-line encyclopedia that deals with many philosophical topics. Articles are signed and often include bibliographies and citation information.

PhilSci Archive
Online preprint exchange for papers in the Philosophy of Science.

Philosophy @ Large

Religion and Philosophy