Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Marine Biology Research Guide

Find books

Marine Biology books are primarily located in the QH-QL call number area on the third floor of the library.  Oceanography titles may be found on the second floor in the GC area. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Marine Biology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

List of RWU Journal Subscriptions (include online full text journals)

BioMed Central -- free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

ACS Publications -- journals published by the American Chemical Society

American Society for Microbiology Journals

Free Medical Jouranls Online

High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

PLoS Biology-- PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science.

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.Emerging Infectious Diseases

Find Reference Tools

Online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH-QL and GC for oceanography.

Web Sites

AlgaeBase

Aquaculture Network Information Center

AquaNIC

Aquatic Plant Glossary

The Cephalopod page

Fisheries Global Information System

Fishbase WWW

The Harmful Algae Page

Marine Biological Laboratory at Wood's Hole

Marine Geology and Geophysics

National Climatic Data Center

National Marine Fisheries Service

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)

National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)

National Ocean Service

National Sea Grant Program

National Sea Grant Depository -- Located at the University of Rhode Island, this depository serves as an archive of all Sea Grant documents.

Pinneped Research in Cognition & Sensory Systems

Scripps Institution of Oceanography Library

SeaWIFS Project

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Wood's Hole Oceanographic Institution

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Oceanography