Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Literature Research Guide

Find books

The Literature books are located in the P - PZ  area on the third floor of the library.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.  You should also check the REF P-PZ shelves of the Reference Literature collection located on the Library's first floor.

Use the HELIN Library Catalog for locating books in the RWU Library.  HELIN is the shared catalog of nine Rhode Island academic libraries. You may request books from any HELIN library by using the online Request link found at the top of the book information screen.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Literature. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF P - PZ

Web Sites

General Resources:
BUBL Link: Literature and Rhetoric
Department English Links from Brock University
Literary Resources on the Net
Created by Jack Lynch. All inclusive site with links arranged by time period, subject, and national literatures.
Online Literary Criticism Collection
Poetry Portal
English and American Literature Resource:
English Literature
Voice of the Shuttle. Prepared by Alan Liu, Department of English, University of Callifornia, Santa Barbara.
Eighteenth-Century English Novel Research Guide
Literature Resources from MIT
Authors:
19th Century British and Irish Authors
American Society of Jane Austen Scholars
Anne Bronte
A Celebration of Women Writers
The Bronte Sisters WebJane Austen Information Page
Charles Dickens Page
Charlotte Bronte
Charlotte Bronte on the Victorian Web
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (MIT)
The Dickens Page
The Dickens Project
Dickens on the Victorian Web
F. Scott Fitzgerald Centenary Home Page
LitGothic
Native American Authors
Willa Cather Electronic Archive
Thomas Hardy Society of North America
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
 
Yahoo Authors

Literary Genres and Time Periods
Arthurian Sites:
Arthuriana
Camelot Project
Legends
Myths and Legends
Medieval:
Medieval Feminist Index
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and genre during the Middle Ages.
Gothic:
The Literary Gothic
The Sickly Taper
Renaissance:
Literary Resources - Renaissance
Voice of the Shuttle - Renaissance - 17th Century
Voice of the Shuttle - Renaissance - 18th Century
Romanticism:
Literary Resources on the Net: Romantic
Romantic Circles
Romantic Chronology
Romantic Links, Electronic Texts, Home Pages, and Syllabi
Romantism on the Net
Voice of the Shuttle: Romantics
Victorian:
The Victorian Web