HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown
InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah
Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Historic Preservation. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.
Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.
Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles can be located on the first floor of the Architecture Library and in the Reference area of the Main Library.
ArtSTOR
Art and Architecture Image Sites
Web Sites
- American Institute for Conservation
- National membership organization of conservation professionals. Links include Caring for your Treasures, Disaster Recovery, Meetings & Conferences, Publications, and Grant Information.
- American Planning Association
- Posts jobs online at http://www.planning.org/Jobsonline/ads.htm
- Army Corps of Engineers
- List of Historic Preservation Services from the Corps' Technical Center for Expertise for Preservation of Historic Structures and Buildings.
- Avery Index
- Specialized database (see link to Online Databases above)for locating journal articles on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
- The Blue Book of Building and Construction
- 800,000 classified listings for the construction industry, featuring architects, engineers, equipment dealers, general contractors, manufacturers, material distributors, etc.
- BuildingGreen Suite
- Articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) are integrated with product listings from the GreenSpec products directory and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database
- ePreservation
- With it's mission to "bring together and share the diverse resources and experiences of the worldwide preservation community," this site is an excellent resource for historic preservationists. Find preservation news, resources by state, links to preservation-related non-profit organizations and government agencies, career and training opportunities, over 150 links to programs and initiatives, and much more. Created by Philip C. Marshall, RWU Historic Preservation Professor and Sam Adams, president of Adams Design Group, Ltd.
- Library of Congress American Memory Project
- "American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections." The site provides a Collection Finder for searching types of collections and a general Search for searching items from all collections.
-
- Center for Livable Communities
- Initiative of the Local Government Commission (LGC) to help communities be proactive in their land use and transportation planning, and adopt programs and policies that lead to more livable and resource-efficient land use patterns.
- Cornell University Law Library
- A good collection for legal and preservation research.
- Cyburbia: Urban Planning Portal
- Planning site from the State University of New York at Buffalo School of Architecture that contains Internet resources relevant to planning, architecture, urbanism, and other topics.
- Historic Preservation Planning Program
- A program of the National Park Service which develops national policy related to historic preservation. Also provides guidance and training to statewide historic preservation planning, including a list of completed state plans. Features other Heritage Preservation Services as well.
- International Council on Monuments and Sites
- ICOMOS is an international organization dealing with the conservation of the world's historic sites. Their site provides links to international and national committees, the World Heritage Information Network, and web related resources such as Internet Resources for Heritage, Conservation, Historic Preservation and Archaeology.
- Making of America -- From Cornell University
- A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- National Archaeological Database
- Communications network for the archaeological and historic preservation community. Provides access to NADB-Reports on archaeological investigation & planning, the Native American Graves and Repatriation Act, and GIS maps.
- National Archives and Records Administration
- Information on their services and programs with links to government documents and historical records as well as information on genealogy research.
- National Center For Preservation Technology (NCPTT)
- Concerned with preservation technology, this site provides services to support its three major components: research, training, and information management.
- National Historic Sites of Canada
- National Park Service
- In addition to National Park information, natural resource data, legislation, and publications, the National Park Service site offers a Links to the Past resource which provides information on grants, tax credits, training, technical assistance, preservation organizations and links to sites of special interest to preservationists such as:
National Register of Historic Places
National Historic Landmarks Program
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record (HABS/HAER) Collections
- National Trust for Historic Preservation
- Information about the National Trust and its services with links to a Resource Directory as well as other Internet resources, historic places, events, their book and video collections, and PreserveLink. Forum Online -- call the reference desk at 254-3375 for login information.
- National Trust for Historic Preservation Library Collection (NTL)
- At the University of Maryland Libraries. " A National Resource for the study of Historic Preservation."
- Planners Web
- City and regional planning resources designed for local planning officials. Planning Commissioners Journal available by subscription.
- Preserve/Net
- Site concerned with "all things preservation." Provides links to information on conferences, employment and grant opportunities, preservation organizations, products and services. There is also an education directory and links to 200 preservation related resources on the Internet in 26 subject categories.
- Public Records Online
- NETR Online offers some free searching of real estate information and public records for municipalities throughout the U.S.
- Sanborn Maps
- Digital Sanborn Maps for Rhode Island. "Large scale maps of cities and towns drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property."
- Thomas Database
- "Legislative information on the Internet." The most current source for full-text Congressional bills.
- University of Virginia Law Library Online Catalog
- A good library collection to check for materials on preservation research. Login as guest.
- Urban Planning, 1794-1918: an anthology of articles, conference papers, and reports
- An annotated bibliography of original source material in urban planning