Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Core 102: History and the Modern World

Finding Books

Use the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books in Roger Williams University Libraries and other HELIN libraries.  To find books located in other libraries you may also wish to search InRhode or WorldCat

Subject Searching

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Democracy-Africa
Democracy-China
Democracy-Europe
Middle East-Foreign Relations-United States
Mexico-Politics and Government

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

HELP FOR WORD SEARCHING


Reference Materials

Encyclopedia of Democratic Thought 
REF JC423 E54 2001
The Encyclopedia of Democracy 
REF JC423 E53 1995 4 vols.
The Encyclopedia of Political Revolutions 
REF JC 491 E63 1998
Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys - online
 
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World 
REF JA61 O95 2001
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable on-line version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas.
 
The Statesman's Yearbook
REF JA51 S7 2005
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures
REF JF511 W67 1998 2 vols.
 

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
Columbia International Affairs Online A "comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
JSTOR
JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is an archive of scholarly journals.  Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.  For a complete listing of currently available journals, refer to the JSTOR Contents page
Lexis/Nexis Universe
A news, law, and business information service with full-text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
PAIS Intl indexes global public policy and social issues

Project Muse
A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.                                                           
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Citations and abstracts of political science literature, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Finding Country Information on the Web

Background Notes from the U.S. Department of State
Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys - online
Library of Congress Country Studies
”This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.”
University of Michigan Documents Center
One of the most comprehensive sites on the web for locating government information, whether it be local, state, federal, foreign or international. For this assignment see their Foreign Government Resources on the Web.
 
The World Fact Book 2004

Web Sites for Core 102

American Constitutional Republic
 
Constitutional Rights Foundation Research Links
Demos: Classical Athenian Democracy
Major Documents, Books, Essays, Pamphlets, & Tracts in the Historical Development of the
 
Digital History
 
Digital Library of the Commons -- University of Indiana
 
EASE History: Experience Acceleration Support Environment
"Online environment that supports the learning and teaching of US History. Hundreds of historical videos and photographs are currently available in EASE History."
FirstGov: Official U.S. Government Portal
 
History Cooperative e-Library: Links to Map Resources
History Cooperative: Historian's Web
 
 
History Online
 
History News Network
 
Human Rights Library -- University of Minnesota
 
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics
 
Making of America
- at Cornell University Library
- at University of Michigan
"digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction"Political Science Resources on the Web from the University of
 
Michigan Documents Center
Political Science Resources
 
Statistical Abstract of the United States
 
Talking History
From University at Albany, State University of New York, a collection of audio documentaries, speeches, debates, oral histories, conference sessions, commentaries, archival audio sources, and other aural history resources.
Who Runs Your World -- BBC Radio Series