Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

History Research Guide

Find books

History books are primarily located in the D call number area on the second floor of the library for general and world history and the E-F area for history of America. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to History. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Print Indexes - Located in the Libary's Reference area.

American History and Life

Historical Abstracts -- index to non-U.S. historical literature

Poole's Index to Periodical Literatrue -- index to popular general interest magazines published in the U.S. from 1802-1881.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

American Historical Review

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF D - F on the first floor.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:
Academic Info: World History Gateway

Best of History Web Sites

Center for History and New Media

Eurodocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe

Internet Public Library - History Ready Reference

Voice of the Shuttle Web Page for Humanities - History Page

Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving and Presenting the past on the Web

American History Sites:
AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History

American and British Hisotry Resources History Resources on the Internet

A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents - from the University of Oklahoma Law Center

A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787 - 1825

Douglass: Archives of American Public Addresses

Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Historical Documents - form Library of Congress

Images of American Political History

"I will be heard": Abolitionism in America -- Documents and images from the antislavery collection at Cornell University Library.

Making of America -- digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Thomas Jefferson Papers - Library of Congress

Special Topic Sites:
Historical Maps of the United States -- From the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas.

History in the News - Middle East -- from SUNY Albany - links to information about Middle East history, society and cultural resources.

National Archives Library Information Center - Women's History

Nazi and East German Propaganda

Voices of the Holocaust

The Wars of Viet Nam 1945-1975

The September 11 Digital Archive

Ancient and Medieval Sites:
Byzantium: Byzantine studies on the Internet

Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World

Labyrinth -- Georgetown's collection of online resources for medieval studies

NetSerf

Perseus Project