Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Medicine and Health Research Guide

Find books

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Medicine and Health. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

American Society for Microbiology Journals
Includes Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy, Applied Environmental Microbiology, Clinical and Diagnostic Laboratory Immunology, Clinical Microbiology Reviews, Eukaryotic Cell, Infection and Immunity, Journal of Bacteriology, Journal of Clinical Microbiology, Journal of Virology, Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews, Molecular and Cellular Biology.
BioMed Central
"BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research."  Open Access Journals
BioMedical and Clinical Journals On-line
From MedWorld Research Corner. This site offers a comprehensive listing of medical journals on the Internet.
British Medical Journal
Effective Clinical Practice
Electronic Journals at Brown University
Most require a subscription.
Emerging Infectious Diseases
Free Medical Journals.com
Hundreds of biomedical journals that provide free access to some of their content.  Each journal will have a different access policy.
High Wire Press 
Free full text science archives from Stanford University.
JAMA, The Journal of the American Medical Association
The Lancet
New England Journal of Medicine
PLOS Biology
PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open-access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science. 
PNAS: Proceedings of the National Academy of Science
ScienceDirect
Search or browse this collection of science and social science journals.  Contains full-text back to 1995 of approximately 500 journals published by Elsevier. Offers citations and abstracts only to more than 1200 journals.
 

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located in the Reference area of the Main Library.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Medical and Health Sites:

American Medical Association
Useful site links to consumer health information, searchable database of 650,000 U.S. physicians and AIDS information center.
Doctor's Guide to Complete Internet Medical Resources
Links to sites by type. Includes disease-specific sites, health associations, hospital sites, medical journals and schools.
Dr. Koop's Community
Intended to help consumers gain access to health information.
Hardin Meta Directory of Internet Health Sources
 
Subject directory set-up. " Lists the sites that list the sites."
Health and Human Services
 
Consumer Health Fact sheets on a variety of topics
Health A to Z
Searchable database and table of contents covering all aspects of the health field. Links to journals, diseases, consumer health, nursing, dental health, fitness and exercise, pharmaceuticals, emergency care, mental health, etc.
Healthfinder
Searchable database of online health publications, clearinghouses, web sites, self-help groups, government agencies, academic centers and nonprofit agencies.
HealthGate
INFOMINE -- BioAgMed
Very comprehensive site offering links to biological, agricultural, and medical sciences web sites.
Martindale's Health Science Guide
Comprehensive site for the medical professional.
MedicineNet
Comprehensive site with many links, disease-specific information, medical news, drug information, medical dictionary, and an ask-the-doctor feature.
MEDLINEplus
From the National Library of Medicine.  Links to a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, hospitals, publications, MEDLINE, and more.  Browse by subject or search by keyword.  Excellent resource for consumers and health care professionals.
Medscape
Offers free full-text articles, medical news and free access to MEDLINE, AIDSLINE, and TOXLINE. Registration required.
MedWeb
Organizes and allows searching of biomedical information found on the web.
National Library of Medicine
Includes free access to Medline and a link to Locatorplus, the NLM's Library Catalog.
Reuters Health Information Services
Daily updates of health-related news, aimed at the health care professional.   Archived items are searchable.
World Health Organization

Topical Sites:

AEGIS: The AIDS Educational Global Information System (AEGIS)
Very comprehensive HIV-related web site.  Includes up-to-date news services.
 
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Includes access to the ToxFAQs fact sheets on hazardous substances.
American Public Health Association
Public health policy and practice, news, legislation, issues, and resources.
Autism-INFO
An overarching site that includes links to articles, other important sites, and searchable databases.
CancerNet
From the National Cancer Institute. Information organized according to your needs as a patient, health professional, or basic researcher.
CDC National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
To find information about disease, disability, or injury as related to enviromental health.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Dental Care
 
Drugs@FDA
Drug information from the FDA.
Health World Online
Focus here is on alternative medicine and "self-managed care."
HIV Insite: Gateway to AIDS Knowledge
From the University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine.
Index of Food and Nutrition Internet Resources
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
 
Lots of useful consumer information here.
Mental Health Net
National AIDS Clearinghouse
Service of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention that offers information on clinical trials and resources, news summaries, searchable AIDS databases, and links to journals and other AIDS related sites.
National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
Information about "evidence-based clinical practice guidelines" for health care professionals. Guidelines available from over100 different medical organizations.   All can be searched or browsed by disease or condition; treatment or intervention method; or issuing organization.
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
 
National Institute of Mental Health
 
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Bibliographies of literature covering bioethics topics such as assisted suicide and cloning.
OncoLink
Excellent site for cancer information. Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania this site offers information for physicians and patients, diagnosis, current treatments, emotional support, journal links and much more.
Primary Care Internet Guide
International in scope, this guide is from the University of Bergen, Norway.
WWW Virtual Library: Public Health
 

Health Statistics:

 
Atlas of United States Mortality
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
 
The World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
 

Scientific Citation and Research:

Refworks
Refworks is an online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. Please see our research guide on how to use this tool located at http://library.rwu.edu/researchhelp/refworks.html 
Research & Documentation Online
By Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College
Scientific Style (CBE)
Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.
Writing and Presenting Research Work
Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals