Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Foreign Language Research Guide

Find books

Use the HELIN Catalog to find books about or written in another language. After searching a topic, you may modify your search by limiting to a specific language.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to History. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles and foreign language dictionaries are located in the REF P area on the first floor.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:
Electronic Text Collections in European Literature
Ethnologue
Political Database of the Americas
Language Links
Yamada Language Guides

Online Newspapers:
Foreign Language News and Newspapers (MIT)
Online Newspapers

French:
ABU: la Bibliotheque Universelle -- Hypertexts, including the best-known works of French literature by authors such as Moliere and Hugo.

ClicNet-- Swarthmore College site. Collection of links focused on literature, culture and the arts.

French Connection -- Directory of links to francophone Web resources worldwide. Howard University Library.

Gallica, Bibliothèque Nationale de France -- The French National Library provides access to thousands of digitized texts, searchable in a variety of ways.

Nomade -- French search engine and directory of links to francophone sites.

German:
DINO

German Language Resource -- University of Virginia provides access to some texts (some are restricted to UVa community) and links to other sites that make texts available.

German Studies Web

Germanic Resources --Part of the University of Wisconsin's "Language Links" site. Links to a variety of Germanic resources, including online texts, cultural and historical information.

Jump Stations to Resources in German Links to Web resources, organized by category (literature texts, newspapers, country information, listservs). University of Alberta resource.

Italian:
Italia Online --Italian search engine also includes Yahoo-style directory of links.

Italian Language Links-- Part of the University of Wisconsin's "Language Links" site. Links to general Italian resources, including online texts, cultural and historical information.

Italian Web Resources -- Links to full-text works of literature from the University of Virginia.

Periodici Italiani -- Links to Italian newspapers and other periodicals online.

Latin:
Classic Language Instruction Project

Classic Links

Portuguese:
AEIOU

Pourtuguese Links

Spanish:

Spanish - English Dictionary

Learn Spanish

LANIC-- University of Texas provides the Latin American Network Information Center, a directory of links to sites on all aspects of Latin America and the Caribbean, including governments, culture and the media. Searchable.

Mexico Web Guide

Spanish Language Links

Professional Organizations and Resources:
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages

American Association of Teachers of French

American Association of Teachers of German

American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese

American Classical League

FLTeach -- Online forum and links to resources.