Finance Subject Research Guide

Online Databases for Finding Business Articles:

Ebsco's Academic Search Premier
Although this is a general database covering all subjects, it includes many business journals and is an excellent starting place.ABI Inform Global Business database indexing and providing full-text content from over 1800 business publications.  Coverage: 1971 - present.
Lexis/Nexis Universe
A news, law, and business information service with full‑text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.  Especially useful for trade journals.  Provides indexing for the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal

Financial Information:

Edgar  
Developed by the SEC, offers financial statements of publicly traded companies.
Hoover's Online
Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
Lexis-Nexis Universe
Select Business under Academic Search Forms, then choose Company Financial under Company Information. Includes U.S. Public Companies, U.S. Private Companies, International Companies, Standard & Poor Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company Reports, Disclosure Reports, Stock Reports, NAARS Annual Reports 1972-1984.
Mergent Online  
Information on approximately 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchange.  Company history, overview, historical finanicals, and annual reports.  Allows you to build a report on companies, create a standard peer group analysis or a custom peer group analysis.  
S&P Netadvantage
Business Analysis Pkg - includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Rpts, Register & Co Profiles.
Tax Research: RIA Checkpoint  --
Once connected you will need to create your login ID.  This ID must be created from an on campus computer. Once you have a login, connect via http://checkpoint.riag.com/login
Worldscope
Financial reports on companies worldwide. RWU FirstSearch subscription database. Campus use only.

Resources Found in the Library's Reference Area:

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
REF HF5681 R25 A45 2002  
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HF5681 R25 I525 2000-01
Market Share Reporter
REF HF5410 M35
Value Line
DESK Reserve HG4501 V21
Wall Street Journal Index/Corporate
REF Index HG1 W26 1999
(located at beginning of Periodicals Area)
Moody's Industrial Manual
REF HG 4961 M67
(only up to 2000, continues online with Mergent Online)
Moody's Industry Review
REF HG 4961 M6 
(only up to 2000, continues online with Mergent Online)
International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 D36
Offers 3-5 page historic analysis of major public and private companies.

Useful Web Links:

 
BizLinks  
Comprehensive resource with links to information on company and industry research, starting a small business, patents and trademarks, marketing, business forms, etc.
Business.Com  
Specialized search engine and portal for the business professional offering both general industry background information as well as links to companies and their particular product lines.
 
Encyclopedia of Management -  5th ed.
A searchable version of the Encyclopedia of Management.
Hoover's Online
Capsule information, basic financials, and news available for free, detailed reports require purchase.  

HELIN Quick Search:

need a book sent to you from another HELIN Library?

need an article not available at the RWU library?

citing your sources

refworks

ask us
email | chat | phone