Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Environmental Sciences Research Guide

Find books

Environmental Sciences books are primarily located in the QH (Biology); QK (Botany); QL (Zoology); QM (Human Anatomy); QP (Physiology); and QR (Microbiology) call number area on the third floor of the library. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Biology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.

BioMed Central -- free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

ACS Publications -- journals published by the

American Chemical Society

American Society for Microbiology Journals

High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

Emerging Infectious Diseases

Free Medical Jouranls Online

PLoS Biology -- PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH - QR on the first floor.

Web Sites

Science.gov -- Search engine created by government agencies on scientific research.

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry -- Includes access to the ToxFAQs fact sheets on hazardous substances.

National Environmental Publications Information Systems -- Search for over 9,500 full-text EPA documents.

National Environmental Data Index (NEDI) -- "NEDI currently provides a Full-text Search of the environmental information compiled by several agencies of the federal government. The objective of the project is to facilitate access to several agencies' databases of information, regulations and data."

Syracuse Research Corporation - Environmental Science -- scholarly research in environmental chemistry, toxicology, and risk assessment.  Abstracts and full-text articles available on research initiatives. 

CIESIN (Center for International Earth Science Information Network)Colombia University. "The center specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment."

Envirolink

USGS Biological Resources

NASA Global Change Master Directory -- A directory of earth science data.

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC)

Librarian's Index to the Internet - Environmental topics

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Scientific Citation and Research

Refworks -- online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. 

Research & Documentation Online -- by Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College

Scientific Style (CBE) -- Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.

Writing and Presenting Research Work -- Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals.