Reference Books on Marketing and Demographics
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
- REF HF5681 R25 A45 2002
- American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money
- REF HC110 I5 A447 2005
- Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand
- REF HC79 C6 B5 2005
- County and City Data Book 2000
- REF HA202 A36 2000
- Encyclopedia of American Industries: Service and Non-Manufacturing
- REF HC102 E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
- REF HC102 E54 1999
- Gale Directory of Publications & Broadcast Media
- REF Z6951 G342 2002
- Lifestyle Market Analyst
- REF HF5415.33 U6 L54 2002
- NAICS Desk Reference
- REF HF1031.5 N35 2000
- NAICS: North American Industry Classification System
- REF HF1042 N6 1997
- Source Book of Zip Code Demographics
- REF HA203 S67 2005
- U.S. Market Trends & Forecasts
- HF5415.1 U7 2002
- Value Line Investment Service
- Desk Reserve REF HG4501 V21
Web Resources
- ABI Inform
- good place to check trade magazines for industry trends.
Off campus access to ABI Inform
- BizMiner
- Industry Reports include financial analysis, market research, and local business summary.
Off campus access to BizMiner
- BizStats
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- Good place to get U.S. government statistics on employment, consumer and producer prices, industry, and labor. An agency within the U.S. Department of Labor.
- Business Resource Library
- Links to Business Resources on a variety of topics and links to individual state and local business information.
- CenStats
- Links to County Business Patterns Data, Building Permits Data, Census Tract Street Locator, and more.
- Country and Industry Market Reports
- From the U.S. Commercial Service, register as a student/researcher to search for country and industry market reports. Reports available include -- Industry Sector Analysis, International Market Insight, Market Research - International, Market Research - Global, and Country Commercial Guide. Free registration required to retrieve information.
- Encyclopedia of Management - 5th ed.
- A searchable version of the Encyclopedia of Management.
- Esri Business Solutions formerly CACI Marketing Systems
- Free samples of demographic reports giving population and income data by zip code. (updated Acorn clusters: http://www.caci.co.uk/acorn/)
- FDIC Office of Public Affairs
- State Profiles provide a quarterly summary of state banking and economic conditions.
- Google Local
- Business listings and maps.
- Hoover's Online
- Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
- IBIS World
- Covering more than 700 industries, IBIS World is a great resource Industry Market Research.
-
- Mergent Online
- Industry and Company Information including general information, financials, and annual reports.
- PRIZM - My Best Segments
- Choose zipcode lookup from top gray bar.
- NAICS - North American Industry Classification System
- Look up NAICS codes for your industry.
- Public Transportation Systems
- Find Links to Public Transportation Systems in U.S.
-
- Small Business Office of Advocacy
- See especially State Economic Profiles.
- Small Business Development Center
- National Information Clearinghouse for Small Business. Good source for industry information.
- SRDS: Standard Rate and Data Service
- Advertising information resource. RWU subscription includes Radio, TV & Cable, Consumer Magazines and Business Publications.
- Switchboard
- Telephone listings for people and businesses.
- United States Census Bureau
- Choose American FactFinder from the left side.
- Value Line Investment Survey