Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 310: Literary Analysis

Finding Books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:
psychoanalysis and literature Jungian psychology
structuralism (literary analysis) feminism and literature
archetype psychology in literature imperialism in literature
hermeneutics postcolonialism in literature
reader response criticism new criticism
Marxist criticism postmodernism (literature)
myth in literature deconstruction
critical theory poetics
feminist theory intertextuality
poststructuralism historicism
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

cultural and materialism
Freud and literature
Derrida and Literature
Shakespeare and witchcraft
women and Elizabethan


Reference Materials

Dictionary of Cultural Theorists
REF B41 D5 1999
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory
REF PN41 C83 1998
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
REF PN81 E43 1993
Shakespearean Criticism  (vols. 1-86.) 
REF PR2965 S43

Finding Articles using Online Databases 

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Full Text
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full Text
Excerpts from criticism published on  authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full Text
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Full Text
Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 
MLA Bibliography 
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO Online version of Psychology Abstracts (PsychLIT).   Choose to search databases covering years 1887 to present.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

Finding Information on the Web

Literary Criticism Resources:

Literary Theory and Cultural Studies by Jack Lynch.
An annotated guide to many sites covering formalism through postmodernism
LitLinks: Critical Theory from A-Z by Bedford/St. Martin's Press.
Provides biographical information and more links on major theorists.
Literary Criticism and Critical Theory by TCG.
Provides background information and links on reader-response, archetypical/myth criticism, postcolonialism, new historicism, etc.
Contemporary Philosophy, Critical Theory and Postmodern Thought by Martin Ryder.
Comprehensive information on theorists like Edward Said, Roland Barthes, Terry Eagleton, Stanley Fish, etc.
Introductory Guide to Critical Theory by Dino Fellugo.
Provides an excellent and comprehensive breakdown of concepts pertaining to psychoanalysis, postmodernism, new historicism, etc.
Introduction to Modern Literary Theory by Kristi Siegel.
This site gives definitions of and references and links to the various theoretical schools and movements.
Introduction to Postcolonial Studies by Emory University's English Department.
Covers major issues and figures within the field.
Women's Studies Resources: Feminist Theory by Karla Tonella.
An annotated site linking to reviews, essays, reviews, and biographies relating to feminist theorists of past and present.

Shakespeare Resources:

The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Treasures in Full Shakespeare in Quatro
From the British Librar
Internet Public Library
A collection of scholarly criticism about Shakespeare.
Early Modern Literary Studies
A fully searchable scholarly journal devoted to the study of sixteenth and seventeenth century English language, literature and culture. Includes many articles on Shakespeare and Elizabethan times.
Elizabethan England
 
Shakespeare Resource Center
Includes information on the Globe theater, Elizabethan England and the Shakespearean authorship debate.
Sites on Shakespeare and the Renaissance
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet by Terry A. Gray.
A guide to Shakespeare resources on the Internet with many links.

Bible Resources:

All in One Biblical Resources
Conceived by Dr Mark Goodacre, Department of Theology, University of Birmingham, U.K.  Includes sections on Biblical Resources and Bible Versions and Translations.
Art History Resources on the Web by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College 
CHRISTUS REX
"CHRISTUS REX is a a private, non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination of information on works of art preserved in churches, cathedrals and monasteries all over the world. They intend to assemble a collection of images that will constitute a visual representation of the Bible, ad maiorem gloriam Dei! (for the greater glory of God!) The Vatican collection comprises over 1200 images, and they have started building the data base for a world wide tour of churches and monasteries, comprising in excess of 5000 images.
 
Connecticut College's Wetmore Print Collection
Contains over 1000 prints, including Rembrandt's "Bible" etchings and Albrecht Durer's religious woodcuts and engravings.  Available from the Connecticut College web site.
 
Early Christian Writings
New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, and Fathers
English Literature and Religion 
Here you will find  primary texts.  "This Web site offers a large bibliographical database about religious aspects and backgrounds of English literature, from the Middle Ages to the present century, with primary (though not exclusive) emphasis upon writers within the Anglican tradition." — William S. Peterson
Graduate Theological Union  -  Flora Lamson Hewlett Library
Large, lightly annotated, collection of Internet resources for religious research from the library of the Graduate Theological Union (GTU) consortium in Berkeley, California.
History of the World from a Biblical Perspective
 
Islamic Studies: Islam, Arabic, and Religion  
From a professor of religion at the University of Georgia.  A collection of annotated sites  about the Qur'an, Sufism, Sunni, Islam in the modern world, women's rights, art, architecture, music, Arabic language study, and more
 
Portals to the World
Resources selected by the Library of Congress, each country guide offers a section on Religion and Philosophy
Templar History.com
Quite commercial in tone, but does provide information on Templar history, mysteries and myths, the Crusades, the Holy Grail, whether the Templars had the Ark of the Covenant and  masonic Templar regalia.
University of Virginia Electronic Text Center
Provides a side-by-side presentation of both the King James and the Revised Standard editions of the Bible.