Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Engineering Research Guide

Find books

Books on engineering will be found primarily in the T - TK areas on the 3rd floor of the library. Search the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books on specific topics.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown.

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah.

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Engineering and Technology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions in engineering.

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.
ACS Publications -- journals published by the American Chemical Society
E-Print Network -- From the U.S. Dept. of Energy, this site offeres a gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines.
High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF T - TK

Web Sites

Comprehensive Engineering Web Resources:
EEVL - Internet Guide to Engineering, Mathematics, and Computing
National Science Foundation - Engineering Home Page
Baker Engineering Library - MIT
Columbia University Engineering Library
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Patents:
European Patent Search
United States Patent and Trademark Office

Environmental Engineering Sites:
Environmental Protection Agency
Envirolink
Geological Hazards
Green Design Institute
National Climatic Data Center
Toxnet - Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Toxseek - Meta-search and clustering engine for environmental health and toxicology.
Water Environment Web

Wastewater Engineering Virtual Library

Construction Sites:
The Blue Book of Building and Construction
Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
Great Buildings

iCivil Engineer
Construction Statistics from U.S. Census Bureau

 

Societies, Standards and Organizations:
American Academy of Environmental Engineers
ACI - American Concrete Institute
ANSI - American National Standards Institute
ASCE - American Society of Civil Engineers
ASEE - American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) -- Scholarly Communication in Engineering Blog
ASM - Society for Materials Engineers
ASME - American Society of Mechanical Engineers
ASRAE - American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc.
ASSE - American Society of Safety Engineers
ASTM - American Society for Testing & Materials
ICE - Institution of Civil Engineers
IEE - Institution of Electrical Engineers
IEEE - Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, Inc.
ISO - International Organization for Standardization
Materials Research Society
National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, National Research Council
National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying
NIST - National Institute of Standards & Technology
OSHA - Occupational Safety & Health Administration

Scientific Citation and Research

Refworks -- online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. 
Research & Documentation Online -- by Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College
Scientific Style (CBE) -- Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.
Writing and Presenting Research Work
-- Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals.