Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 210: Myth, Fantasy, and Imagination

Professor Deborah Robinson

Finding Books

Use the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books in Roger Williams University Libraries and other HELIN libraries. To find books located in other libraries you may also wish to search InRhode or WorldCat

Subject Searching

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:
Costume
Costume - Greece
Costume - History
Costume - Dictionaries
Ancient Greek Concept of War
Hunting - Greece - History
Military history, Ancient
Ancient Greek Arts
Art and Literature - Greece - History
Art, Ancient - Greece
Greece - Antiquities
Art, Greek
Ancient Greek Law/Legal System
Law, Greek
Greece - Civilization
Greece - Civilization - To 146 BC
Female Role/Standing in Ancient Greek Society
Greece - Civilization
Women - Greece - Economic conditions
Women - Greece - Social conditions
Sex - Greece - History
Male Role/Standing in Ancient Greek Society
Greece - Civilization
Sex - Greece - History
Civilization Aegean
Ancient Greek Economic System
Economics - Greece - History
Greece - Economic Conditions
Ancient Greek Political System
Greece - Politics and Government - to 146 BC

City States - Greece - History
Political science - Greece - History
Ancient Greek Society
Greece Intellectual Life to 146 B C
Greece - Civilization
Ancient Greek Athletics
Games - Greece
Sports - Greece
Athletics - History
Olympic Games Ancient
Ancient Greek Religion
Greece - Religion
Ancient Greek Geography/Topography
Geography, Ancient
Additional Subject Headings:

Minoans
Civilization, Mycenaean
Minoans -- Social life and customs
Crete (Greece) -- Social life and customs

Civilization, Aegean
Bronze age -- Aegean Sea Region
Aegean Sea Region -- Antiquities
Art, Mycenaean
Art, Cretan
Art, Minoan

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample Keyword searches for this class:

Ancient Greece and politics
Ancient Greece and women


Reference Materials

Common knowledge : a reader's guide to literary allusions
REF PN43 .G68 198
The Facts on File dictionary of classical, biblical, and literary allusions
REF PN43 L37 1987
Merriam-Webster's dictionary of allusions
REF PN43 .W384 1999
The Oxford dictionary of allusions
REF PE1580 .D45 2001
 

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
ARTStor

"ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use."
Art Abstracts
Index and abstracts to art publications. 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective
Index to the art literature from 1929-1984.
Britannica Online
Full Text
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full Text
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography and other Gale Literary Criticisms.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia A searchable version of Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. This encyclopedia includes recent changes in the lives of animals.
Grove's Dictionary of Art
Full Text
Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. Revised and updated. Includes images.
JSTOR
Full Text
Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Bibliography
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Oxford Reference Shelf A regularly updated collection of over 100 dictionaries, encyclopedias quotation books and subject companions. Searches multiple books simultaneously, as well as searching by individual title or chosen subject. Includes citation instructions.
Oxford English Dictionary
Full Text
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Finding Information and Images on the Web

Art History Resources on the Web
by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College