Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide

English 110 :
Serpents, Swords, and Symbols

Professor Deborah Robinson

Finding Books

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:
Bible and Literature Allusions
Bible As Literature Lewis, C. S. (Clive Staples), 1898-1963
Bible Criticism Interpretation Bible - Illustration
Bible English Versions Mary Magdalene, Saint
Angels Devil
Allusions in Literature Cathedrals
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample Keyword searches for this class:

Literature and allusion  
Bible King James Version 
allegory and c.s. lewis

HELP FOR WORD SEARCHING


Reference Materials

Common knowledge : a reader's guide to literary allusions
REF PN43 .G68 198
The Facts on File dictionary of classical, biblical, and literary allusions
REF PN43 L37 1987
Merriam-Webster's dictionary of allusions
REF PN43 .W384 1999
The Oxford dictionary of allusions
REF PE1580 .D45 2001
 
 

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
ARTStor

 
"ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use."
Art Abstracts
 
Index and abstracts to art publications. 1984-present.
Art Index Retrospective
 
Index to the art literature from 1929-1984.
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography and other Gale Literary Criticisms.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia A searchable version of Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. This encyclopedia includes recent changes in the lives of animals.
Grove's Dictionary of Art
Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art.  Revised and updated.  Includes images.
JSTOR
Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Bibliography 
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
Oxford English Dictionary
 
Oxford Reference Shelf A regularly updated collection of over 100 dictionaries, encyclopedias quotation books and subject companions. Searches multiple books simultaneously, as well as searching by individual title or chosen subject. Includes citation instructions.
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Finding Information and Images on the Web

All in One Biblical Resources
Conceived by Dr Mark Goodacre, Department of Theology, University of Birmingham, U.K.  Includes sections on Biblical Resources and Bible Versions and Translations.
Art History Resources on the Web
by Chris Witcombe, Professor of Art History at Sweet Briar College 
CHRISTUS REX
"CHRISTUS REX is a a private, non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination of information on works of art preserved in churches, cathedrals and monasteries all over the world. They intend to assemble a collection of images that will constitute a visual representation of the Bible, ad maiorem gloriam Dei! (for the greater glory of God!) The Vatican collection comprises over 1200 images, and they have started building the data base for a world wide tour of churches and monasteries, comprising in excess of 5000 images."
Connecticut College's Wetmore Print Collection
Contains over 1000 prints, including Rembrandt's "Bible" etchings and Albrecht Durer's religious woodcuts and engravings.  Available from the Connecticut College web site.
Early Christian Writings
New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, and Fathers
English Literature and Religion 
Here you will find  primary texts.  "This Web site offers a large bibliographical database about religious aspects and backgrounds of English literature, from the Middle Ages to the present century, with primary (though not exclusive) emphasis upon writers within the Anglican tradition." — William S. Peterson
Graduate Theological Union  -  Flora Lamson Hewlett Library
Large, lightly annotated, collection of Internet resources for religious research from the library of the Graduate Theological Union (GTU) consortium in Berkeley, California.
History of the World from a Biblical Perspective
Portals to the World
Resources selected by the Library of Congress, each country guide offers a section on Religion and Philosophy
Templar History.com
Quite commercial in tone, but does provide information on Templar history, mysteries and myths, the Crusades, the Holy Grail, whether the Templars had the Ark of the Covenant and  masonic Templar regalia.
 
Islamic Studies: Islam, Arabic, and Religion  
From a professor of religion at the University of Georgia.  A collection of annotated sites  about the Qur'an, Sufism, Sunni, Islam in the modern world, women's rights, art, architecture, music, Arabic language study, and more
University of Virginia Electronic Text Center
Provides a side-by-side presentation of both the King James and the Revised Standard editions of the Bible.