Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Criminal Justice Research Guide

Find books

Criminal Justice books are primarily located in the HV call number area on the second floor of the library. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Criminal Justice. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

SAGE Full-text Ciminology Collection -- full-text of 15 journals published by SAGE.
Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.
Criminal Justice Journals at RWU
Hein Online -- database of law reviews journals

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH - QR on the first floor.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:
Florida State University School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
JUSTNet: Justice Technology Information Network
NCJRS Justice Information Center
Vera Institute of Justice

Government Agencies:
Bureau of Justice Assistance
C.I.A.
Drug Enforcement Administration
F.B.I.
Federal Bureau of Prisons
Federal Judiciary Center
National Institute of Drug Abuse
National Institute of Justice
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
Office of National Drug Control Policy
Office for Victims of Crime
U.S. Departmnet of Justice Home Page
United States Marshal
U.S. Parole Commission

Courts and the Law:
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Decisions of the Supreme Court form Cornell -- Archive of court decisions since 1990
National Center for State Courts
Thomas -- legislative information on the web
U.S. Federal Judiciary Home Page
Internet Law Library

International Resources:
International Court of Justice
Interntional Criminal Justice Resources
International Justice Statistics
INTERPOL
Laws of Other Nations - Internet Law Library
World Criminal Justice Library Network
World Factbook of Criminal Justice

Law Enforcement and Corrections:
COPS
COPnet
The Corrections Connection Network
Federal Bureau of Prisons

Forensics:
David Willshire's Forensic Psychology & Psychiatry Links
Forensic Science Network
Zeno's Forensic Page

Statistics and Research:
Bureau of Justice Statistics Home Page
Criminal Justice Statistics from NCJRS
FEDSTATS
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Police Executive Research Forum
Sourcebook of Crimnal Justice Statistics
Uniform Crime Reports

CJS Class Assessment.