Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Core 447: Women Across Time

Finding Books

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Women  (see also related subjects)
Women - History
Women - Social Conditions
Feminism

Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.


Reference Materials

The ABC-CLIO Companion to Women's Progress in America
REF HQ 1410 F76 1994
Chronology of Women's History
REF HQ 1121 O47 1994
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
REF HQ1115 E43 2001 v.1-2
Larousse Dictionary of Women
REF HQ1115 L37 1996

Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
Contemporary Women's Issues An index to women's health and human rights issues.
Gale's Literature Resource Center Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Gender Watch A full-text database that focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas
JSTOR
Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 
MLA Bibliography 
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
Philosopher's Index Covers scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
PsycINFO Online version of Psychology Abstracts (PsychLIT).   Choose to search databases covering years 1887 to present.
Sociological Abstracts Covers literature in the fields of social sciences and related disciplines.

Finding Information on the Web

Archives Library Information Center (ALIC) Pathfinder for Women's History
A women's history bibliography separated into several headings. Part of the National Archives.
BUBL
Links to sites on women's history and feminist perspectives.
Celebration of Women Writers
Comprehensive site with links to biographical information, hypertexts and bibliographies for women writers searchable by name, date (from ancient times onward) and ethnicity. 
Diotima
Resources include images and essays on women and gender in the ancient world.
Images of Women in Ancient Art: Issues of Interpretation and Identity
Sweet Briar College site explores the meaning behind depictions of women in ancient art.
International Alliance for Women in Music
Includes links to resources, including images, on women composers, historical and contemporary.
Internet Women's History Sourcebook
Links to sites on women's history, organized by time period/culture and topic.
Medieval Feminist Index
Index to articles and essays on women in medieval times.
National Women's History Project
Resources related to U.S. women's history.
Voice of the Shuttle: Women's Studies and Feminist Theory   
Compilation of links on feminism, women's history and issues.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1820-1940
"Editorial projects" provide essays on key topics and developments in American women's history, together with full-text-primary source documents.
Women's Studies Database
University of Maryland site with topically organized links to a wide range of resources on women's history and issues.
WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies
A listing of resources on women's topics, includes online bibliographies, forums, journals, etc.