Finding Books
Use the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books in Roger Williams University Libraries and other HELIN libraries.
To find books located in other libraries you may also wish to search InRhode or WorldCat
Subject Searching
Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.
Sample subject headings for this class:
Cubism
Futurism - Art
Keyword Searching:
Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.
- Allows you to use Boolean operators (AND, OR and NOT) to broaden , narrow, or define your search.
- Allows for truncation of search terms.
Sample Keyword searches for this class:
constructivism and architecture
futurism and music
HELP FOR WORD SEARCHING
Reference Materials
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
- Groves Dictionary of Art -- both print and online
- Print edition is available in the Architecture Libary at
ARCH REF N31 D5 1996 -- 34 volumes
- Gardner's Art Through the Ages
- REF N5300 G25 1996
- Oxford Dictionary of Art
- REF N33 O93 1997
- Oxford Dictionary of Architecture
- ARCH REF NA31 C86 1999
- The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - 29 volumes
- REF ML100 N48 2001
- Baker's Dictionary of Music
- REF ML100 S635 1997
- International Encyclopedia of Dance - 6 volumes
- REF GV1585 I586 1998
Finding Images
- ARTStor
- "ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use."
- Groves Dictionary of Art
- The online version of this important reference offers an image search.
- Google
- Click on the Images Tab
- ArtCyclopedia
- Search by artist, title of artwork, or by museum. You may also browse by the collection by art movement.
- Art and Architecture Image Sites
- Prepared by Roger Williams University Libraries
- The Artchive
- Browse by art movement or search for an artist
Finding Videos
Listed below are some of our video selections. You should also search HELIN on an artist or an artistic period/movement to find more. Please ask for help in finding videos.
- Art & the Western World
- AV Dept. N5300 A78
- American Visions
- AV Dept. N6505 A521
- Shock of the New
- AV Dept. N6494 M64 S562 1980
- Art on Film
- AV Dept. N72 M6 A77 1992
To locate other videos which may be available see:
Annenberg/CPB Learner.org
PBS Video Database
Finding Video and Sound Clips
- BBC 4: Audio Interviews
- Audio interview clips from the BBC.
- BBC 3: Audio Interviews
- Audio interview clips from the BBC.
-
- British Pathe Film Archive
- An assortment of free and pay short video clips on a variety of subjects.
-
- Elite Dance Network's Dance Video Search Engine
- Video clips of dance performances.
-
- Internet Archive - Movie Archive
- An assortment of free video clips on a variety of subjects.
-
- NAXOS Music Library
- A collection of classical music online. While listening, you can also read notes about the works being played as well as biographical information about the composers and artists.
-
- VideoD -- Great Moments in Dance
- Video clips of dance performances.
Finding Articles using Online Databases
Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
|
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications. |
Britannica Online
|
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources. |
| Art Abstracts |
Index and abstracts to art publications. 1984-present. |
| Art Index Retrospective |
Index to the art literature from 1929-1984. |
|
Avery Index |
Premier Architectural Index. |
| Bibliography on the History of Art (BHA) |
Comprehensive art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs, and articles from over 4,300 periodicals. |
| Project Muse |
A collection of 300 high quality journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. |