Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 320 : Continental Literature

Professor Loretta Shelton

Find books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Dante's InfernoHeadings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Topic Subject Heading
Crime and Punishment (Dostoyevsky) Dostoyevsky Fyodor 1821 1881 Criticism And Interpretation
Dostoyevsky Fyodor 1821 1881 Characters Raskolnikov
A Doll's House (Henrik Ibsen)
Don Quixote (Cervantes)
Faust (as a character) Faust D Ca 1540 In Literature
The Inferno (Dante) Dante Alighieri 1265 1321 Criticism And Interpretation
Johann W. Goethe Goethe Johann Wolfgang Von 1749 1832 Criticism And Interpretation
Madame Bovary (Flaubert) Flaubert Gustave 1821 1880 Criticism And Interpretation
The Magic Mountain
Death in Venice
(Thomas Mann)
Mann Thomas 1875 1955 Criticism And Interpretation
The Metamorphosis (Kafka) Kafka Franz 1883 1924 Verwandlung [The Metamorphosis] Criticism And Interpretation
Rouge et Noir (Stendhal)
The Transformations of Lucius; Otherwise Known as The Golden Ass (Apuleius) Apuleius. Metamorphoses.
Tristan & Isolde (as characters) Tristan Legendary Character Romances
Iseult Legendary Character Romances  
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

Tristan and Isolde
Continental Literature
German Literature
Russian Literature
Spanish Literature

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah


 Find articles in online databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Excerpts from criticism published on  authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 
MLA Bibliography
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.

Project Muse
A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

bullets Find Reference Tools

Online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.