Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Communications Research Guide

Find books

Communication books are primarily located in the P call number area on the third floor of the library. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Education. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

RWU journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Find Newspapers

Editor & Publisher Media Info Links
Database of the world's online media arranged geographically and by media  category. Choose media links from the home page.

Newspapers Links
by the Newspaper Association of America. This site offers a gateway to newspapers and other related media organizations. Includes U.S. newspapers, selected international papers, weeklies, business papers, college papers, and press associations.

Newspapers On-line

Find Reference Tools

Online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:

AJR Newslink -- links to newspapers, magazines, radio and television sites.

FACSNET

Journalism Library -- Columbia University

Journalism Resources

Internet Journalism Resources

Poynter Online -- links to journalism libraries and research centers, organizations, publications and journalism schools.

Specialized Sites:

Broadcasters

Television News Archives

FCC -- The Federal Communications Commission

FAIR: Fairness & accuracy in reporting
free! The Freedom Forum Online

Organizations and Associations

American Communication Association

American Society for Journalists and Authors

Broadcast Education Assoication

National Press Club