Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Chemistry Research Guide

Find books

Chemistry books are primarily located in the QD call number area on the third floor of the library. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Chemistry. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

ACS Publications -- full text journals from the American Chemical Society.

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.

BioMed Central -- free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Chemical Educator

e-Polymers -- Free peer-review journal from European Polymer Federation.

e-PRINT Network -- From the U.S. Department of Energy.  This site offers a searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and technical disciplines. 

High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

Journal of Chemical Education -- Contact librarian for username and password.

T.H.E. Journal (Technological Horizons in Education)

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.

Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH - QR on the first floor.

Web Sites

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry

Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre

ChemFinder

Chemistry.org: The website of the American Chemical Society

ChemWeb

ChemDex Index

ChemINFO

Chemistry Resource Locator

Expasy Molecular Biology Server

Hazardous Chemical Database

Information Resources for Chemistry

Information Retrieval in Chemistry WWW server

Links for Chemists

MolData

Molecular Weight Calculator

MSDS

NIST Chemistry Webbook

NIST Reference on Constraints, Units, and Uncertainity

Visual Elements Periodic Table

Right to Know Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets

SCOP: Structural Classification of Proteins

WebElements

Software:

Chemical Molecular Models

Chemscape Chime

Journal of Chemical Education Software

RasMol at UC Berkeley

Professional Organizations:

American Chemical Society

ChemCenter

ChemSoc: The Chemistry Societies Network

Environmental Protection Agency

European Chemical Society

National Science Foundation

Royal Society of Chemistry

Scientific Citation and Research

Guidelines for ACS Speakers and Poster Presenters -- includes poster standards and suggestions for presentation

Refworks -- online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. 

Research & Documentation Online -- by Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College

Scientific Style (CBE) -- Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.

Writing and Presenting Research Work -- Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals.

Guidelines for ACS Speakers & Poster Presenters:

Guidelines for ACS Speakers and Poster Presenters -- includes poster standards and suggestions for presentation