Books on business will be found in several locations throughout the Library, primarily in the HD and HF areas on the second floor. However, since the field is quite varied, it will be worthwhile searching by specific subject headings in the online catalog.
HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown
InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah.
WorldCat - a worldwide catalog of books
- ABI INFORM
- An important database for your research. This database covers a wide range of business and management topics. Here you will find articles in scholarly journals, trade publications, business magazines, and newspapers and dissertations. Includes access to the Wall Street Journal.
- Academic Search Premier
- Multi-discplinary academic database indexing and abstracting for 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text is provided for 4,450 titles. Another great place to get started with your research.
- Lexis-Nexis Universe
- Search its business section for business news, industry and market information and company profiles. Search News to find full-text newspaper coverage of national and regional newspapers.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratio
- REF HF5681 R25 A45
- Bizminer
- Industry Reports include financial analysis, market research, and local business summary.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries: Service and Non-Manufacturing
- REF HC102 E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
- REF HC102 E54 1999
- Export.gov: Market Research Library
- Click on Country & Industry Market Reports to access to find industry sector analysis and market research organized by country and industry. Offers market information on specific industries that can help determine market potential, market size, and competitors. Free registration required to retrieve information. (good for Airbus)An agency within the U.S. Department of Labor.
- First Research
- Industry Profiles including industry overview and forecast, trends and opportunities, business challenges, recent developments, and financial information. You can link to First Research through Hoovers.
- Hoover's Online
- Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
- IBIS World
- Covering more than 700 industries, IBIS World is a great resource Industry Market Research.
- Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios
- REF HF5681 R25 I525
- Mergent Online
- When you enter Mergent, click on the Industry Reports tab, select an industry and a region to search.
How to find Industry Averages using Mergent:
- Basic Search
- Search by Primary SIC
- When the companies are displayed, click on the link that says “click here to add all” at the top of the list.
- Find the Company Analysis List Icon in the top right corner and click on Expand
- Choose Create Comparison Report
- Choose your search Criteria
- Make sure the Industry Average Check box (found under search criteria) is checked off.
- Click on Create Report The Peer Averages will appear at the top of each column.
- NAICS Classification
- NAICS: North American Industry Classification System
- REF HF1042 N6 1997
- Small Business Development Center
- National Information Clearinghouse for Small Business. Good source for industry information.
- STAT-USA GLOBUS & NTDB
-
- Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
- U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook
- REF HC101 U54
- Value Line Investment Survey
Company Information
- Edgar
- Developed by the SEC, offers financial statements of publicly traded companies.
- International Directory of Company Histories
- Offers historic analysis of major public and private companies.
- Hoover's Online
- Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
- Lexis-Nexis Universe
- Select Business under Academic Search Forms, then choose Company Financial under Company Information.= Includes U.S. Public Companies, U.S. Private Companies, International Companies, Standard & Poor Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company Reports, Disclosure Reports, Stock Reports, NAARS Annual Reports 1972-1984.
- Mergent Online
- Information on approximately 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchange. Company history, overview, historical financials, and annual reports. Allows you to build a report on companies, create a standard peer group analysis or a custom peer group analysis.
- Moody's Manuals
- HG4961 .M67
Information on public companies arranged by industry segment. Information includes corporate history, background, mergers and acquisitions, directory information, financial statements, and capitalization. Library owns 1970-1999. For current information see Mergent Online.