Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Biology Research Guide

Find books

Biology books are primarily located in the QH (Biology); QK (Botany); QL (Zoology); QM (Human Anatomy); QP (Physiology); and QR (Microbiology) call number area on the third floor of the library. You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah.

Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Biology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

List of RWU Journal Subscriptions (include online full text journals)

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.

BioMed Central -- free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

ACS Publications -- journals published by the American Chemical Society

American Society for Microbiology Journals

High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

Emerging Infectious Diseases

Free Medical Jouranls Online

PLoS Biology-- PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH - QR on the first floor.

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:

INFOMINE -- BioAgMed

BioSciences WWW Virtual Library

SciCentral - Biological Sciences

Science.gov

Specialized Sites:

AgNic

All the Virology on the Web

Cephalopod Page

Chilibot

Envirolink

Genome Database

Integrated Taxonomic Information System

Internet Directory for Botany

Invasive Species Initiative

NCBI Taxonomy -- provides access to genetic databases for proteing and nucleic acid sequences for all organisms cataloged with NCBI.

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man -- from John Hopkins, a catalog fo human genes and genetic disorders.

PLANTS National Database

Phylogenetics Databases and Information

Scientific Citation and Research

Refworks -- online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. 

Research & Documentation Online -- by Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College

Scientific Style (CBE) -- Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.

Writing and Presenting Research Work -- Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals.

Bio 104 Lab Assessment