Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Art & Art History Research Guide

Find books

Art & Art History books are located in the N-NX call number areas on the second floor of the library.  Art encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and handbooks may also be found by this call number in the Library's reference area.  You may browse the collection or use the library catalog to locate specific titles and subjects.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Art. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.
Nineteenth Century Art Worldwide

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles can be located on the first floor of the Architecture Library.
ArtLex: Dictionary of Visual Art

Find Images

ArtSTOR

Art and Architecture Image Sites

Artcyclopedia: The Guide to Museum-Quality Art on the Internet

Art Images for College Teaching

Oxford (Grove's) Dictionary of Art

Visual Arts Data Server

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:

Archives of American Art, Smithsonian

ArtSource

Art History Resoruces on the Web

Getty Research

WWW Virtual Library: History of Art

Art Libraries with Web Links:

Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University

Bapst Library at Boston College

Harvard Libraries Fine Arts Library

Vassar College of Art Library

Rhode Island Museums and Arts Organizations:

Bell Gallery, List Art Center, Brown University

Newport Art Museum

Rhode Island School of Design

Rhode Island State Council on the Arts

Great Museums Nearby:

Isabelle Stewart Gardner Museum

MASS MoCA

The Metropolitan Museum of Art

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston

Museum of Modern Art

RISD Museum

Professional Organizations:

American Association of Museums

Art Libraries Society of North America

College Art Association

National Endowment for the Arts