Research Tips & Tools

Subject Guide:

Architecture Research Guide

Find books

Architecture books are located in the Architecture Library.   Architecture encyclopedias, dictionaries, guides, and handbooks are located in the reference area of the Architecture Library.

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Architecture. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.
Architronic Plan (MIT School of Architecture and Planning newsletter)

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles can be located on the first floor of the Architecture Library.

Find Images

ArtSTOR
Art and Architecture Image Sites

Web Sites

Comprehensive Sites:

Architecture and Building -- extensive web links from UNLV Libraries

Architecture WWW Virtual Library

Art Source

Cyburbia: Urban Planning Portal

Specialized Sites:

Blue Book of Building and Construction

Center for Livable Communities

International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA)

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Sweet's Group Online

ULI Development Case Studies -- Access to more than 300 case studies of commercial and development projects. See librarian for password.

Libraries with Web Links:

Columbia University, Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library

Harvard University, Graduate School of Design, Frances Loeb Library

MIT, Rotch Library of Architecture and Planning

Professional Organizations:

American Institute of Architects (AIA)

American Planning Association

Associaiton for Computer Aided Design in Architecture (ACADIA)

Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA)

Harvard Society of Architectural Historians (SAH)