Course Guides:

Accounting 101: Financial Accounting

When searching for information about a company, first determine what type of information you are seeking.

Are you......

  • Looking for articles on companies or business topics?
  • Looking for a company’s address or some descriptive information about that company?
  • Looking for company financial information and annual reports?

Online Databases for Finding Business Articles & Reports

Accounting, Business, Economics, Management, Marketing
Name of Database About this Database

ABI Inform Global Business

Scholarly and comprehensive coverage of business research topics including management, economics, finance, marketing, human resources, computers and more. Includes journal articles, company profiles and The Wall Street Journal (1971-present)

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. (1971-present)

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

Multi-discplinary academic database indexing and abstracting for 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines. Full text is provided for 4,450 titles. (1975-present)

Academic Universe (Lexis/Nexis)

A news, law, and business information service with full-text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.

Hoover's Online

Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.

Mergent Online

Industry and Company Information including general information, financials, and annual reports.

S&P NetAdvantage

Business Analysis Pkg - includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Rpts, Register & Co Profiles

Stat USA

Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides information for the U.S. business, economic, and trade community. See librarian for password.

Tax Research: RIA Checkpoint

Access to tax research libraries and journals including the U.S. Tax Reporter Library, All State Tax Guide, TAPS Series 2, Public Domain Library of federal tax case law and IRS rulings, Journal of Taxation, Corporate Taxation, Practical Tax Strategies. once connected you will need to create your login ID. This ID must be created from an on campus computer. Once you have a login, connect via http://checkpoint.riag.com/login

WorldScope

Financial reports on companies worldwide. (Current information)


Directories & Sources for Company Overview

Print Resources
A Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
REF HG4358 A1 D5
Volume 1 lists, in alphabetical order, American firms which have operations abroad; volumes 2 and 3 include listings by country of the American firms’ foreign operations.
International Directory of Company Histories
REF HD2721 D36
Offers 3-5 page historic analysis of major public and private companies.
Online Resources:
BizLinks
Comprehensive resource with links to information on company and industry research, starting a small business, patents and trademarks, marketing, business forms, etc.
Business.Com
Specialized search engine and portal for the business professional offering both general industry background information as well as links to companies and their particular product lines.
Hoover’s Online
Capsule information, basic financials, and news available for free, detailed reports require purchase.
 
Mergent Online
Information on approximately 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchange. Company history, overview, historical finanicals, and annual reports. Allows you to build a report on companies, create a standard peer group analysis or a custom peer group analysis.
S & P NetAdvantage
Business Analysis Package - includes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Rpts, Register & Co Profiles
Thomas Directory of American Manufacturers
Over 150,000 American and Canadian manufacturers can be searched by product and service headings and 124,000 brand names. Also supplies links to online supplier catalogs. Also available in print at REF T12 T6.

Financial Information

Print Resources
 
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
REF HF5681 R25 A45 2002
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios
REF HF5681 R25 I525 2000-01
Online Resources
Annual Reports Gallery
Nearly 1,000 annual reports available on the web. Entries also include the company home page.
Edgar
Developed by the SEC, offers financial statements of publicly traded companies.
Hoover’s Online
Capsule information, basic financials, and news available for free, detailed reports require purchase.
Lexis-Nexis Universe
Select Business under Academic Search Forms, then choose Company Financial under Company Information. Easy access to financial information on publicly-traded companies.
Mergent Online
Information on approximately 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchange. Company history, overview, historical finanicals, and annual reports. Allows you to build a report on companies, create a standard peer group analysis or a custom peer group analysis.
Tax Research: RIA Checkpoint
Once connected you will need to create your login ID. This ID must be created from an on campus computer. Once you have a login, connect via http://checkpoint.riag.com/login
Worldscope
Financial reports on companies worldwide. RWU FirstSearch subscription database. Campus use only

HELIN Quick Search:

need a book sent to you from another HELIN Library?

need an article not available at the RWU library?

citing your sources

refworks