Country Overviews & Analyses
- Background Notes
- From the U.S. Department of State
-
- Country and Industry Market Reports
- From the U.S. Commercial Service, register as a student/researcher to search for country and industry market reports. Reports available include -- Industry Sector Analysis, International Market Insight, Market Research - International, Market Research - Global, and Country Commercial Guide.
- EIU ViewsWire
- In-depth and current coverage of 195 countries for doing business in world markets.
- Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys
- Simply search for your country and then choose from the information provided on the left menu. Selecting Country Statistics will lead you to a menu giving external trade statistics.
- Foreign Government Resources on the Web
- From the University of Michigan Documents Center
-
- The Library of Congress Country Studies
- Country Studies/Area Handbook program sponsored by the Department of the Army
- Portals to the World
- From the Library of Congress. Links to broad categories for each country listed.
- U.S. Department of State Business Center
-
- World Factbook
- From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Online Databases for Finding Business Articles & Information
- ABI Inform Global
- Business database indexing and providing full-text content from over 1800 business publications. Coverage: 1971 - present.
- Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
- Although this is a general database covering all subjects, it includes many business journals and is an excellent starting place.
- Lexis Nexis - Academic Universe
- A news, law, and business information service with full‑text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources. Especially useful for trade journals. Provides indexing for the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- Mergent Online
- In addition to financial information about a company, Mergent also offers current news articles about the company.
-
- Stat USA
- Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides information for the U.S. business, economic, and trade community. Two parts: State of the Nation covering current and historical economic data and "GLOBUS and NTDB for current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities and country analysis. See librarian for password.
- WorldScope
- Financial reports on companies worldwide.
Industry Information
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
- REF HF5681 R25 A45
- Bizminer
- Industry Reports include financial analysis, market research, and local business summary.
- Current Industry Reports
- From U.S. Census
- Encyclopedia of American Industries: Service and Non-Manufacturing
- REF HC102 E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
- REF HC102 E54 1999
- Export.gov: Market Research Library
- Click on Country & Industry Market Reports to access to find industry sector analysis and market research organized by country and industry. Offers market information on specific industries that can help determine market potential, market size, and competitors. Free registration required to retrieve information.
- First Research
- Industry Profiles including industry overview and forecast, trends and opportunities, business challenges, recent developments, and financial information. You can link to First Research through Hoovers.
- Fuld & Company Library
- Corporate Library providing links to good business and industry information on the web.
-
-
- Hoover's Online
- Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
- IBIS World
- Covering more than 700 industries, IBIS World is a great resource Industry Market Research.
-
- Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios
- REF HF5681 R25 I525
-
- Market Share Reporter
- REF HF5410 M35
Overview of companies within an industry and their market share.
- Mergent Online
- When you enter Mergent, click on the Industry Reports tab, select an industry and a region to search.
How to find Industry Averages using Mergent:
- Basic SearchSearch by Primary SICWhen the companies are displayed, click on the link that says "click here to add all" at the top of the list.Find the Company Analysis List Icon in the top right corner and click on Expand Choose Create Comparison Report Choose your search Criteria Make sure the Industry Average check box (found under search criteria) is checked off. Click on Create Report
- The Peer Averages will appear at the top of each column.
-
- NAICS: North American Industry Classification System
- REF HF1042 N6 1997
-
-
- Small Business Development Center
- National Information Clearinghouse for Small Business. Good source for industry information.
- STAT-USA
- Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
- U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook
- REF HC101 U54
- Value Line Investment Survey
-
Company Information
- Disclosure
- Financial reports on publicly owned companies.
- Edgar
- Developed by the SEC, offers financial statements of publicly traded companies.
- Hoover's Online
- Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
-
-
- International Directory of Company Histories
- REF HD2721 D36 and Online
Offers historic analysis of major public and private companies.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
- Select Business under Academic Search Forms, then choose Company Financial under Company Information.= Includes U.S. Public Companies, U.S. Private Companies, International Companies, Standard & Poor Corporate Descriptions, Hoover's Company Reports, Disclosure Reports, Stock Reports, NAARS Annual Reports 1972-1984.
- Mergent Online
- Information on approximately 11,000 companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ exchange. Company history, overview, historical financials, and annual reports. Allows you to build a report on companies, create a standard peer group analysis or a custom peer group analysis.
-
- Worldscope
- Financial reports on companies worldwide.
International Trade
- ITDN: International Trade Data Network (trial until 9/25)
- Excellent source for export/import and trade related information. "From current events to comprehensive country, industry and market reports, ITDN™ has been the nationally recognized aggregation and distribution leader."
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
- A "comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
- Doing Business in.... HLB International
- Global Trade Negotitions Home Page
- Maintained by the Center for International Development at Harvard University. Offers an entry point to many trade related resources on the internet.
- Europa World Yearbook & Regional Surveys
- In addition to country profiles, this resource gives external trade and trade partners.
- European Corporate Governance Institute
- Eurostat - European statistics
- International Trade Center
- Country level trade information
- The Internationalist: Center for International Business and Travel
- STAT-USA GLOBUS & NTDB
- Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
- Trade Policy Reviews
- From the World Trade Organization. Search by country or chronologically.
- Treaties & International Agreements
- 5,000 treaties and international agreements, including international tax treaties. Updated Monthly. For access click on Login using Password. See Librarian for password.
- U.S. Census Bureau - Foreign Trade Statistics Home Page
- Commodity Trade Data
- U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services
- U. S. International Trade Statistics
- U.S. International Trade Commission
- U.S. International Trade Commission -- Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb
- Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public free of charge. Login Screen (registration is free, but you will have to create an account)
- U.S. Dept. of Commerce. International Trade Administration
- Office of Trade and Economy: Data and Analyses
- TradeStat Express - National trade data & State Export Data
- U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights
- WebEc International Economics Site
- Web Resources for International Trade
- From the Federation of International Trade Associations
Business Culture
- Executive Planet
- Information on international business cultures, customs and protocol.
- Kiss, bow, or shake hands : how to do business in sixty countries
- REF HF5389 M67