Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Critical Writing for the Sciences

HELIN (finding books, etc.)

Use the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books and other materials in Roger Williams University Libraries and other HELIN libraries.  To find books located in other libraries you may also wish to search InRhode or WorldCat

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

 Find articles in online databases

Link to a listing of the library's databases relevant to Biology. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

Find journals and magazines

Link to RWU e-journal subscriptions. Search by title or subject.

Science Direct -- Contains full-text of Elsevier publisher titles back to 1995.

BioMed Central -- free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

ACS Publications -- journals published by the American Chemical Society

American Society for Microbiology Journals

High Wire Press -- free full text science archives from Stanford University

Emerging Infectious Diseases

Free Medical Jouranls Online

PLoS Biology-- PLoS Biology is a peer-reviewed open access journal published monthly by the Public Library of Science.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.
Print Reference titles can be located at REF QH - QR on the first floor.

Web Sites

Marine Sciences:

AquaNIC: Aquaculture Network Information Center

AgNic:  Agriculture Network Information Center

National Sea Grant Library

Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management

Ocean Planet- Smithsonian Institution Save the Bay

State of Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

WINDandSEA

Health:
National Institute of Health
MEDLINEplus
From the National Library of Medicine.  Links to a medical dictionary, encyclopedia, hospitals, publications, MEDLINE, and more.  Browse by subject or search by keyword.  Excellent resource for consumers and health care professionals.
INFOMINE -- BioAgMed
 
Very comprehensive site offering links to biological, agricultural, and medical sciences web sites.
Martindale's Health Science Guide
Comprehensive site for the medical professional.
National Library of Medicine
Includes free access to Medline and a link to Locatorplus, the NLM's Library Catalog.
Reuters Health Information Services
Daily updates of health-related news, aimed at the health care professional.   Archived items are searchable.
World Health Organization
Environment:
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Includes access to the ToxFAQs fact sheets on hazardous substances.
CIESIN (Center for International Earth Science Information Network)
Colombia University. "The center specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment."
Congressional Research Service Reports
Search or  browse this collection of 1210 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics.  These reports are redistributed by the National Library for the Environment as a public service.
Envirolink
Provides access to genetic databases for protein and nucleic acid sequences for all organisms cataloged with NCBI.
 
Librarian's Index to the Internet - Environmental topics
Evaluated web sites listed by subject area.
NASA Global Change Master Directory
 
A directory of earth science data.
National Environmental Publications Information Systems
Search for over 9,500 full-text EPA documents.
National Environmental Data Index (NEDI)
"NEDI currently provides a Full-text Search of the environmental information compiled by several agencies of the federal government. The objective of the project is to facilitate access to several agencies' databases of information, regulations and data."
Science.gov
Search engine created by government agencies on scientific research. 
Threatened and Endangered Species System (TESS)
From the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service - Environmental Conservation Online System
USGS Biological Resources
Of special note is the publications area.
 
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

- Scientific Citation & Research

Refworks
Refworks is an online bibliographic management program that allows you to create your own personal database of references. Please see our research guide on how to use this tool. 
Research & Documentation Online
By Diana Hacker, Prince George's Community College
Scientific Style (CSE)
http://www.nwmissouri.edu/library/citing/cbe.htm
Owens Library, Northwest Missouri State University.
Writing and Presenting Research Work
http://www.sciencekomm.at/advice/presenting.html
Informative site about writing, presenting, and publishing scientific research.   Includes links to life science and medical journals.