Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

Critical Writing for the Professions -
Sustainability

- HELIN (finding books, etc.)

Use the HELIN Library Catalog to locate books and other materials in Roger Williams University Libraries and other HELIN libraries.  To find books located in other libraries you may also wish to search InRhode or WorldCat

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah

Suggested searches:

Sustainable Buildings
Green Buildings
Building Materials - Environmental Aspects
Sustainable Buildings - Design and Construction
Zero Emissions

- Online databases (finding articles, etc.)

The databases listed below will be helpful for finding journal articles and other information on "green" campuses and topics related to your assignment. Many of these databases will provide full-text articles.

ABI Inform Global
For business related information about building green.

Academic Search Premier
A good place to start to look for articles from multiple disciplines. Full text is provided for 4,450 titles.

Avery Index
Premier architectural database. Good place to search for information about building green standards.

Building Green.com
Articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database.

Engineering Research Databases
Databases include: ANTE (Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering), ASCE Civil Engineering Abstracts, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts.

ERIC (Education Database)
Here you will find journal articles and documents about green building as it relates to education.

Science Direct
Full text science and technology journals

- Useful Web Sites

U.S. Green Building Council

LEED : Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design
"The Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) Green Building Rating SystemT is the nationally accepted benchmark for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings."

LEED Resources
Full LEED Rating System, Reference Guides and other publications/links.

Capital - E
Lots of good publications on green building projects.

Standards.gov

National Center for Standards and Technical Regulations

Google Scholar -- more academic results than standard Google