Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide

Business Seminar - European Union

Country Overviews & Analyses

EIU ViewsWire
In-depth and current coverage of 195 countries for doing business in world markets.
Europa World Yearbook and Regional Surveys
Simply search for your country and then choose from the information provided on the left menu. Selecting Country Statistics will lead you to a menu giving external trade statistics.
World Factbook
From the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency.
Portals to the World
From the Library of Congress.  Links to broad categories for each country listed.
Background Notes
From the U.S. Department of State
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
A "comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
Country and Industry Market Reports
From the U.S. Commercial Service, register as a student/researcher to search for country and industry market reports. Reports available include -- Industry Sector Analysis, International Market Insight, Market Research - International, Market Research - Global, and Country Commercial Guide.
Foreign Government Resources on the Web
From the University of Michigan Documents Center

Online Databases for Finding Business Articles, Company & Industry Information

Name of Database About this Database
ABI Inform Global
Some Full Text
Business database indexing and providing full-text content from over 1800 business publications.  Coverage: 1971 - present.
Academic Search Premier - Ebsco 
Some Full Text
Although this is a general database covering all subjects, it includes many business journals and is an excellent starting place.
Academic Universe (Lexis/Nexis)
Full Text
A news, law, and business information service with full text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources.  Especially useful for trade journals.  Provides indexing for the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online A "comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs."
EconLit An index to economic literature.
Hoovers Online Offers company, industry, and market information. 12 million companies listed, with in-depth coverage on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
IBIS World Covering more than 700 industries, IBIS World is an important tool for Industry Market Research. Search by Industry, Keyword, or NAICS code. Includes Industry Research Reports and Industry Risk Rating Reports, and Public Company profiles.
Mergent Online
Full Text
In addition to financial information about a company, Mergent also offers current news articles about the company.

International Trade

 
 
Doing Business in.... HLB International
European Corporate Governance Institute
The Internationalist: Center for International Business and Travel
STAT-USA GLOBUS & NTDB
Current and historical trade-related releases, international market research, trade opportunities, country analysis, and the National Trade Data Bank (NTDB).
Treaties & International Agreements
15,000 treaties and international agreements, including international tax treaties.  Updated Monthly.  For access click on Login using Password. Click on Login Using Password.  Ask Librarian for Password.
Trade Policy Reviews
From the World Trade Organization.  Search by country or chronologically.
U.S. International Trade Commission
U.S. International Trade Commission -- Interactive Tariff and Trade Dataweb  
Provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public free of charge.  Login Screen  (registration is free, but you will have to create an account)
U.S. Dept. of Commerce. International Trade Administration
 

Business Culture

Executive Planet
Information on international business cultures, customs and protocol.
Kiss, bow, or shake hands : how to do business in sixty countries
REF HF5389 M67