Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 300: British Literature III

Professor Loretta Shelton

Find books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

James JoyceHeading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Topic Subject Heading
20th Century British Literature English Fiction 20th Century History And Criticism
All Quiet on the Western Front (Erich Remarque) Remarque, Erich Maria, 1898-1970. Im Westen nichts Neues
Dylan Thomas Thomas Dylan 1914 1953 Criticism And Interpretation  
Evelyn Waugh Waugh Evelyn 1903 1966 Criticism And Interpretation
Ezra Pound Pound Ezra 1885 1972 Criticism And Interpretation
George Orwell Orwell George 1903 1950 Criticism And Interpretation
James Joyce Joyce James 1882 1941 Criticism And Interpretation
Lady Chatterly’s Lover, (D.H. Lawrence) Lawrence D H David Herbert 1885 1930 Lady Chatterleys Lover
Modernism Modernism Literature England
Modernism Literature Great Britain
Portrait Of the Artist As A Young Man (James Joyce) Joyce James 1882 1941 Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man
T.S. Eliot Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Symbolism  
Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Criticism And Interpretation
William Butler Yeats Yeats W B William Butler 1865 1939 Criticism And Interpretation
The Waste Land (T.S. Eliot) Eliot T S Thomas Stearns 1888 1965 Waste Land
Wide Sargasso Sea  (Jean Rhys) Rhys Jean Criticism And Interpretation
Rhys Jean Wide Sargasso Sea
World War I Literature World War 1914 1918 Literature And The War
Politics And Literature
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

contemporary British literature
post war British literature
modernism and british poetry

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah


 Find articles in online databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Excerpts from criticism published on  authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Browse or  search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. 
MLA Bibliography
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages . It includes substantial accounts of individual authors and detailed histories of themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.


Find Videos

Link to instructions on how to use the online catalog to find videos.