Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 290: British Literature II

Professor Loretta Shelton

Charles Dickens

Find books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Topic Subject Heading
The Brontës Bronte Anne 1820 1849
Bronte Charlotte 1816 1855
Bronte Emily 1818 1848
Bronte Family
Charles Dickens Dickens Charles 1812 1870
Emma (Jane Austen) Austen Jane 1775 1817 Criticism And Interpretation
George Byron Byron George Gordon Byron Baron 1788 1824 Criticism And Interpretation
John Keats Keats John 1795 1821 Criticism And Interpretation
Joseph Andrews/ Shamela (Henry Fielding) Fielding Henry 1707 1754 Criticism And Interpretation
Middle March (George Eliot) Eliot George 1819 1880 Middlemarch
The Old Nurse's Story (Elizabeth Gaskell) Gaskell Elizabeth Cleghorn 1810 1865 Criticism And Interpretation
Percy Bysshe Shelley Shelley Percy Bysshe 1792 1822
Romanticism Romanticism Great Britain
Ulysses (Alfred Lord Tennyson) Tennyson Alfred Tennyson Baron 1809 1892 Criticism And Interpretation
Victorian & Romantic Aesthetics Aesthetics British 19th Century
Victorian & Romantic Literature English Literature 19th Century History And Criticism
English Fiction 19th Century History And Criticism
Victorian and Romantic Era Intellectual Life Great Britain Intellectual Life 19th Century
Victorian and Romantic Poetry English Poetry 19th Century History And Criticism
Victorian and Romantic Society and Literature Literature And Society Great Britain History 19th Century
William Blake Blake William 1757 1827
William Wordsworth Wordsworth William 1770 1850
Wuthering Heights (Emily Bronte) Bronte Emily 1818 1848 Wuthering Heights
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

victorian poetry
women and victorian fiction
Romantic era
victorian novel

HELIN Library Catalog - The combined library catalog of RWU, PC, URI, RIC, CCRI, Salve, JWU, Bryant, Wheaton, and Brown

InRhode - to find books in both the HELIN Library Catalog and Brown's Library Catalog, Josiah


Find articles in online databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Full Text
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full Text
Excerpts from criticism published on authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full Text
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Full Text
Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Bibliography
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Full Text
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature Provides comprehensive coverage of the entire history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages . It includes substantial accounts of individual authors and detailed histories of themes, movements, genres, and institutions.
Project Muse A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.

Find Reference Tools

Link to online reference resources such as encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries, etc.