Research Tips & Tools

Course Guide:

English 270: British Literature

Professor Loretta Shelton

William Shakespeare

Finding Books

Searches books, journal titles, government documents, videos, and compact discs.

HELIN offers two search types: Heading and Keyword.

Heading Searches:

Headings searches are by Subject heading, Author or Title.

Use this type of search when you know the name of an author, a correct title, or a Library of Congress Subject Heading.

Sample subject headings for this class:

Topic Subject Heading
18th Century British Literature English Literature 18th Century History And Criticism
18th Century Satire Satire English History And Criticism
Beowulf Beowulf
The Canterbury Tales Chaucer Geoffrey D 1400 Canterbury Tales
Chaucer Chaucer Geoffrey D 1400 Criticism And Interpretation
The Development of the English / British Novel English Fiction 18th Century History And Criticism
Doctor Faustus (Christopher Marlowe) Marlowe Christopher 1564 1593 Doctor Faustus
Elizabeth I Elizabeth I Queen Of England 1533 1603
The English Renaissance England Renaissance
Everyman Everyman
The Faerie Queene Spenser Edmund 1552 1599 Faerie Queene
The Flea (John Donne) Donne John 1572 1631 Criticism And Interpretation
Gulliver's Travels (Swift) Swift Jonathan 1667 1745 Gullivers Travels
Lanval Marie, de France, 12th cent. Lais
Medieval English Literature English Literature Middle English 1100 1500 History And Criticism
The Metaphysical Poets Metaphysics - Poetry
A Modest Proposal (Swift) Swift Jonathan 1667 1745 Modest Proposal
Morte Darthur Arthurian romances -- History and criticism
Paradise Lost (Milton) Milton John 1608 1674 Paradise Lost
Oroonoko (Behn) Behn Aphra 1640 1689 Oroonoko
Prologue to The Canterbury Tales Chaucer Geoffrey D 1400 Canterbury Tales Prologue
The Rape of the Lock (Pope) Pope Alexander 1688 1744 Rape Of The Lock
Restoration Literature Restoration 1660 1688 Great Britain History
Shakespeare's Sonnets Sonnets Shakespeare William 1564 1616
Sir Gawain and the Green Knight Gawain And The Grene Knight
The Sonnet Sonnets English History And Criticism
The Sun Rising (Donne) Donne John 1572 1631 Criticism And Interpretation
Whoso list to hunt (Sir Thomas Wyatt) Anne Boleyn Queen Consort Of Henry Viii King Of England 1507 1536
Ye Goatherd Gods (Sir Philip Sidney) Sidney Philip Sir 1554 1586
Keyword Searching:

Use this type of search when you do not know the proper LC Subject heading for your topic, or when you know some of the words but not all the words in a title. Or to expand or narrow your search.

Sample keyword searches for this class:

restoration and literature
Oroonoko
satire and literature and 18th century
Everyman and play


Finding Articles using Online Databases

Academic Search Premier - Ebsco
Some Full Text
General periodical index providing full text for nearly 3,460 scholarly publications.
AH Search Citations to articles in the arts and humanities.
Britannica Online
Full Text
Encyclopedia articles with links to Internet resources.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Full Text
Excerpts from criticism published on authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Gale's Literature Resource Center
Full Text
Full-text online access to Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
JSTOR
Full Text
Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MLA Bibliography
Links to Some Full Text
An index to literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Full Text
A searchable version of Gale's New Dictionary of the History of Ideas. The History of Ideas deals with topics (both current and historic) in the intellectual life of human beings.

Project Muse

A collection of 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

WorldCat Worldwide catalog of books and other materials.