| America's Historical Newspapers Description: Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876 | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| ArtStor Description: Database of images. ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. | images images |
| Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Description: Surveys the breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society – from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Africa Description: An up-to-date encyclopedia on the history, people, politics, and cultures of Africa. Includes entries on individual countries and social issues such as the AIDS crisis. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture Description: Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance: Italy, France, and England Description: Biographies and topical essays that describe the often-overlooked contributions of women to the science, politics, and culture of the Renaissance. | all full text reference tools |
| Films on Demand Description: Digital Education streaming video | streaming media streaming media |
| Grove (Oxford) Dictionary of Art Description: Name change from Grove Art to Oxford Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Description: Comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Description: This encyclopedia examines the forms, artists, techniques, and types of western and non-western decorative arts throughout history. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Description: Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art Description: Coverage includes materials in art practice; materials in conservation; classes of artifacts; techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes and forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art Description: Offers current and comprehensive scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. | all full text reference tools |
| Historic Map Works Description: Extensive digital map collections with over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic maps. The core of the collection consists of property and land ownership maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States. | reference tools reference tools |
| New Catholic Encyclopedia Description: This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. | all full text reference tools |
| New Encyclopedia of Africa Description: An up-to-date encyclopedia on the history, people, politics, and cultures of Africa. Includes entries on individual countries and social issues such as the AIDS crisis. | all full text reference tools |
| Oxford Art Online Description: Name change from Grove Dictionary of Art to Oxford Dictionary of Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Companion to Architecture Description: Contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection Description: Includes dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia and quotation sources. Search multiple books simultaneously or search an individual title or chosen subject. | reference tools reference tools |
| Reference Universe Description: An electronic index to content contained in the library's print and electronic reference titles. Search Reference Universe to find out which titles contain information on your topic. | linked to full text reference tools |
| Sanborn Maps Description: RWU Library subscription gives you access to maps of Rhode Island, including individual areas and cities. (1867-1970) | reference tools reference tools |
| Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Description: A comprehensive encyclopedia of film and film studies. Includes career profiles. | all full text reference tools |
| Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Description: "Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound® (www.smithsonianglobalsound.org), an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world’s diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media." By Fall 2009, you will be able to access through the Music Online interface. | streaming media streaming media |
| Theatre in Video Description: Streaming videos of definitive productions of plays. Also includes documentaries about plays. If you create an account, you can create and store clips of videos for later viewing. Requires Macromedia Flash and 400kbps of bandwidth. Limited to 3 simultaneous users. | streaming media streaming media |