| African American Music Reference Description: Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and more. Also accessible through Music Online. | all full text streaming media |
| African American Song Description: "African American Song is the first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others." | streaming media streaming media |
| American Song Description: American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, pioneers, and cowboys. | streaming media streaming media |
| Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Description: Authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia covering sociology and related fields. | reference tools reference tools |
| Contemporary World Music Description: "Delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent." | all full text streaming media |
| Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Description: Surveys the breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society – from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Africa Description: An up-to-date encyclopedia on the history, people, politics, and cultures of Africa. Includes entries on individual countries and social issues such as the AIDS crisis. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of African Diaspora Description: Information on the people, places, and events of the African Diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of American Urban History Description: Covers the rise of urban America in the 20th century. Interdisciplinary approach covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Gender and Society Description: Covers the major theories, research, people, and issues in contemporary gender studies. Offers a cross-national/cross-cultural perspective that provides comparative analyses of the life experiences of men and women around the world. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Human Geography Description: This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Human Relationships Description: "Offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations. Provides a state-of-the-art review of the extensive theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships." | reference tools reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Human Rights Description: "This encyclopedia offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history." | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of India Description: A comprehensive encyclopedia on India. Includes history, geography, and culture. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology Description: Focuses on the study of the behavior of people in the workplace. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture Description: Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology Description: Presents an overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic, and minority issues in the United States. It covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Topics include academic achievement, acculturation, affirmative action, community interventions, education, health, immigrants, prejudice, racial identity development, social ecology, stereotyping, teaching multiculturalism, tokenism, values, violence, worldviews, and more. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Race and Crime Description: Explores the similar historical experiences of varied racial and ethnic groups and illustrates how race and ethnicity has mattered and continues to matter in the administration of American criminal justice. | reference tools reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Race and Racism Description: The economic, sociological, historical, anthropological and scientific aspects of race and racism. | all full text indexes/databases |
| Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society Description: Examines the role race and ethnicity play in society. Covers intergroup relations in the United States and the comparative examination of race and ethnicity worldwide. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender Description: Covers issues of sexuality, gender and sex from a sociological, psychological and philosophical perspective. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of Social Work Description: Covers all aspects of social work from practice, including demographics, social environments, social conditions, challenges, and policy. | all full text reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human Development Description: Examines life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how both enduring and transitional experiences such as education, stress, marriage, career, parenthood, disease and retirement influence an individual’s life course. The impact of social and government policies and racial, gender, and geographic patterns of many life course phenomena are also covered. | all full text reference tools |
| Films on Demand Description: Digital Education streaming video | streaming media streaming media |
| Global Road Warrior Description: Includes a wealth of country information including economic and demographic data. | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Description: Comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Description: This encyclopedia examines the forms, artists, techniques, and types of western and non-western decorative arts throughout history. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Description: Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. | all full text reference tools |
| Heritage Quest Online Description: Find ancestors in the U.S. Federal Census (1790-1930) and search for information about people and places described in family and local histories. | all full text indexes/databases |
| Historic Map Works Description: Extensive digital map collections with over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic maps. The core of the collection consists of property and land ownership maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States. | reference tools reference tools |
| International Encyclopedia of Organizational Studies Description: Organizational, management, and sociological philosophy and theories that relate to the organization of human beings. | all full text reference tools |
| International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 2nd ed. Description: Covers a broad range of topics in social science including anthropology, art, economics, political science, history, religious studies and psychology from a national and international perspective. | all full text reference tools |
| International Encylopedia of Marriage and Family Description: A study, by topic, on issues surrounding marriage and family in many countries and comparing many cultures. | all full text reference tools |
| Jazz Music Library Description: Comprehensive streaming audio collection with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Also accessible through Music Online. | data/statistics data/statistics |
| Material Culture in America Description: In nearly 200 entries, the encyclopedia traces the history of artifacts,concepts and ideas, industries, peoples and cultures, cultural productions, historical forces, periods and styles, religious and secular rituals and traditions, and much more. | all full text reference tools |
| Music Online Description: Comprehensive music database that searches across several Alexander Street Press databases. Watch streaming video, listen to over 400,000 audio tracks, search music reference sources, create play lists, and much more. | streaming media streaming media |
| New Catholic Encyclopedia Description: This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. | all full text reference tools |
| New Dictionary of the History of Ideas Description: Survey of the history of Western thought and culture. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. | all full text reference tools |
| New Encyclopedia of Africa Description: An up-to-date encyclopedia on the history, people, politics, and cultures of Africa. Includes entries on individual countries and social issues such as the AIDS crisis. | all full text reference tools |
| Oxford Art Online Description: Name change from Grove Dictionary of Art to Oxford Dictionary of Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection Description: Includes dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia and quotation sources. Search multiple books simultaneously or search an individual title or chosen subject. | reference tools reference tools |
| Reference Universe Description: An electronic index to content contained in the library's print and electronic reference titles. Search Reference Universe to find out which titles contain information on your topic. | linked to full text reference tools |
| Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Description: "Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries is a joint venture with Smithsonian Global Sound® (www.smithsonianglobalsound.org), an international network of music audio archives and an educational resource that delivers the world’s diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media." By Fall 2009, you will be able to access through the Music Online interface. | streaming media streaming media |
| World Book Online Description: 22 volume World Book Encyclopedia Online plus access to primary sources, external web sites, historical maps and multi-media | all full text reference tools |