| databases | reference tools |
| Academic Search Premier Description: Multi-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers and more. An excellent place to begin your research. (1975-present) | some full text indexes/databases |
| America's Historical Newspapers Description: Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876 | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| Art Abstracts Description: Index and abstracts to art publications. (1984-present) | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| Art Index Retrospecitve Description: Index to the art literature from 1929-1984. (1929-1984) | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| ArtStor Description: Database of images. ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. | images images |
| Avery Index Description: Index of Architecture journals with abstracts. (1934 - current, with selective coverage back to 1741.) | linked to full text indexes/databases |
| Bibliography on the History of Art (BHA) Description: Comprehensive art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. (1973 - current) | linked to full text indexes/databases |
| Building Green Suite Description: Articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) are integrated with product listings from the GreenSpec products directory and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database. | reference tools reference tools |
| Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) Description: Indexes articles in design and applied arts including ceramics, jewelry, wood, graphic design, landscape architecture, interior design, computer generated graphics and more. | linked to full text indexes/databases |
| GreenFILE Description: Provides indexing and abstracts with some full-text linking to articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. | some full text indexes/databases |
| HABS/HAER Drawings Collection Description: Access to more than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 American historic structures and sites dating back from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century. The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are ongoing programs of the U.S. National Park Service, made available to the public by the Library of Congress. | all full text images |
| Historic Map Works Description: Extensive digital map collections with over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic maps. The core of the collection consists of property and land ownership maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States. | reference tools reference tools |
| JSTOR Description: An archive of scholarly journals. Browse or search the full text back files of publications in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. For a complete listing of currently available journals, refer to the JSTOR Contents page. | all full text e-journals |
| Lexis Nexis Academic Universe Description: A news, law, and business information service with full-text access to nearly 6000 newspapers, periodicals, and reference sources. | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| Oxford Art Online Description: Name change from Grove Dictionary of Art to Oxford Dictionary of Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection Description: Includes dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia and quotation sources. Search multiple books simultaneously or search an individual title or chosen subject. | reference tools reference tools |
| ProQuest Central Description: Multi-disciplinary academic database covering scholarly journals, newspapers and more. An excellent place to begin your research. | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| Reference Universe Description: An electronic index to content contained in the library's print and electronic reference titles. Search Reference Universe to find out which titles contain information on your topic. | linked to full text reference tools |
| RIBA Architectural Library Catalogue Description: An index of articles in over 300 world-wide architectural journals and a catalog of holdings in the Royal Institute of British Architects Architectural Library. It is a very useful supplement to the Avery Index. | no full text indexes/databases |
| Sage Journals Online Description: Online journals from Sage Publications. | e-journals e-journals |
| Sanborn Maps Description: RWU Library subscription gives you access to maps of Rhode Island, including individual areas and cities. (1867-1970) | reference tools reference tools |
| America's Historical Newspapers Description: Early American Newspapers, Series I 1690-1876 | indexes/databases indexes/databases |
| ArtStor Description: Database of images. ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use. | images images |
| Building Green Suite Description: Articles, reviews, and news from Environmental Building News (EBN) are integrated with product listings from the GreenSpec products directory and project case studies from the High-Performance Buildings Database. | reference tools reference tools |
| Encyclopedia of American Urban History Description: Covers the rise of urban America in the 20th century. Interdisciplinary approach covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology. | all full text reference tools |
| Films on Demand Description: Digital Education streaming video | streaming media streaming media |
| Grove (Oxford) Dictionary of Art Description: Name change from Grove Art to Oxford Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture Description: Comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Description: Entries provide in-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art Description: Coverage includes materials in art practice; materials in conservation; classes of artifacts; techniques and methods (e.g. book binding, gilding, printing, weaving), terms (e.g. rustication), tools (e.g. easel, laser), theory (e.g. technical examination, conservation controversies), fakes and forgeries, and conservation theorists and practitioners. | all full text reference tools |
| Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art Description: Offers current and comprehensive scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. | all full text reference tools |
| Historic Map Works Description: Extensive digital map collections with over 200,000 high-resolution, full color historic maps. The core of the collection consists of property and land ownership maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Art Online Description: Name change from Grove Dictionary of Art to Oxford Dictionary of Art in 2008. Online full-text of the original 34 volume Dictionary of Art. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Companion to Architecture Description: Contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. | reference tools reference tools |
| Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection Description: Includes dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia and quotation sources. Search multiple books simultaneously or search an individual title or chosen subject. | reference tools reference tools |
| Reference Universe Description: An electronic index to content contained in the library's print and electronic reference titles. Search Reference Universe to find out which titles contain information on your topic. | linked to full text reference tools |
| Sanborn Maps Description: RWU Library subscription gives you access to maps of Rhode Island, including individual areas and cities. (1867-1970) | reference tools reference tools |